Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Another "Tranceived" vs. "Monitored" posting.  (Read 4167 times)

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Another "Tranceived" vs. "Monitored" posting.
« on: January 18, 2008, 10:58:22 AM »

I'm posting some interpreted observations - if/where my interpretations are incorrect, please let us know...

1. If you have a DS7000, and your HouseCode (HC) is set to "F" (for example), the DS7000 "Monitors" all HC=F traffic.  Further, no other application (AHP) or tranceiver is necessary for any device addressed as HC=F to be operated from any (remote) transmitter, because the DS7000 receives the RF command from the remotes (transmitters) and sends the command back out via the powerlines to the target module.

2. The only purpose of a tranceiver, and/or having the CM15A tranceive HouseCodes is if something (like a remote) is going to issue an RF command for a module that is not addressed to the MONITORED HouseCode of either the DS7000, or the CM15A. 

3. (not sure on this one) - If the CM15A is plugged in to the PowerLine, AND the Tranceived HouseCode(s) is set to AUTO then ALL transmitted RF commands to ANY HouseCode will be received by the CM15A and sent out (transmitted) over the PowerLine to the target modules.  If the Tranceived HouseCode(s) is set to NONE, no transmitted RF commands (other than those for the MONITORED HC) will be transmitted over the PowerLine.  Likewise, if SPECIFIC HC(s) are checked, ONLY those AND the Monitored one will be transmitted.

So here's a question:  I think the CM15A receives (and records) all RF transmitted commands, and if it is plugged into the PC running AHP - it will transmit all commands to AHP and therefor the AHP and the CM15A can & will operate macros from all HouseCodes - then those macros can cause COMMAND transmissions to the PowerLine and modules on any HouseCode.  Right or wrong? 

(All of this assumes there are no range/distance issues)
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: Another "Tranceived" vs. "Monitored" posting.
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 11:58:01 AM »


2. The only purpose of a tranceiver, and/or having the CM15A tranceive HouseCodes is if something (like a remote) is going to issue an RF command for a module that is not addressed to the MONITORED HouseCode of either the DS7000, or the CM15A. 

3. (not sure on this one) - If the CM15A is plugged in to the PowerLine, AND the Tranceived HouseCode(s) is set to AUTO then ALL transmitted RF commands to ANY HouseCode will be received by the CM15A and sent out (transmitted) over the PowerLine to the target modules.  If the Tranceived HouseCode(s) is set to NONE, no transmitted RF commands (other than those for the MONITORED HC) will be transmitted over the PowerLine.  Likewise, if SPECIFIC HC(s) are checked, ONLY those AND the Monitored one will be transmitted.


No, not quite correct. There really is no connection between Monitored and Trancieved functions.
The CM15A will "remember" the status of every unit code in the monitored house code, and will continually update that state table when any of the 16 unit codes change state. Thus for any conditional macros relying on a unit code being in a certain state for triggering, that unit code must be in the monitored house code. That is all the "monitor house code" function does.

IF the monitored house code is not set to be trancieved (or "Auto is selected) the commands from an RF remote will not be trancieved.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Another "Tranceived" vs. "Monitored" posting.
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 12:12:23 PM »

1. If you have a DS7000, and your HouseCode (HC) is set to "F" (for example), the DS7000 "Monitors" all HC=F traffic.  Further, no other application (AHP) or tranceiver is necessary for any device addressed as HC=F to be operated from any (remote) transmitter, because the DS7000 receives the RF command from the remotes (transmitters) and sends the command back out via the powerlines to the target module.

This is true. In fact you want to make sure AHP does NOT transcieve this housecode so that signal collisions do not occur. AHP can still trigger macros from a remote that are set to this housecode.

Quote
So here's a question:  I think the CM15A receives (and records) all RF transmitted commands, and if it is plugged into the PC running AHP - it will transmit all commands to AHP and therefor the AHP and the CM15A can & will operate macros from all HouseCodes - then those macros can cause COMMAND transmissions to the PowerLine and modules on any HouseCode.  Right or wrong? 

Correct except that the CM15A does not need to be connected to the PC for the RF signal to trigger a macro.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.