Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!  (Read 14493 times)

stingey

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« on: September 30, 2007, 10:53:10 AM »

Maybe this post will give X10 a little incentive to get the drivers for Windows Vista!!!
« Last Edit: September 30, 2007, 10:59:47 AM by stingey »
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2007, 12:23:39 PM »

I hate to sound like Bill Clinton, but I feel your pain.

This problem has been going on since Vista was in the beta phase and to the purchaser running Vista it appears X10 doesn't care.   HP was late in updating their printer drivers for Vista.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7085
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2007, 02:16:27 PM »

I have two Vista systems at home (as well as three XP PC's). I was somewhat surprised to find it difficult to find a nice keyboard for my wife Vista system last week. And the one we did get (that SAID Vista on the box) drivers didnt work with Vista.

It's not just X10 thats behind the curve...... I really wish it was.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2007, 05:48:15 PM »

Why not get a USB keyboard?  They don't use drivers.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7085
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2007, 07:06:13 PM »


Why not get a USB keyboard?  They don't use drivers.


Well actually they do. Nicer keyboards (did I mention it was for my wife) have nice options now-a-days and can do alot more then type.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

stingey

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2007, 08:12:45 PM »

I finally figured out how to get it running thanks to dgraces on another thread on here. No thanks to x10! You have to modify it a little and it is working just fine.  8)
Logged

paulie

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2007, 09:48:38 PM »

Stingay,

How did you get your drivers for the VA11A on Vista? Please share.

I am a newbie with X10, and so far nothing but problems. Very disappointed, especially with all the "hype" on the X10.com website.

You said you got help from "degraces on another thread".   What thread?

Thanks
Logged

Thorntonw

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2007, 03:00:11 PM »

I have tried everything that has been suggested in this forum but still nothing works. If you are running vista do not I repeat do not buy X10 Software because it does not work!!! :-\
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 275
  • Posts: 10285
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: WARNING!!!! VA11A DOES NOT WORK WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!!!!!
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2007, 03:19:01 PM »

paulie: the thread that  stingey   is referring to is
Topic: *ONE* THREAD for Unsigned VA11A Driver and Windows Vista!  (Read 59262 times) The thread is over 9 pages long. bnocturnal   actually posted the fix but dgraces helped to get the info clarified!
I believe if you start reading from the point I linked to you'll figure it out! ;) :D ;D

I have tried everything that has been suggested in this forum but still nothing works. If you are running vista do not I repeat do not buy X10 Software because it does not work!!! :-\
Stating that you've tried everything and nothing works is such a vague  post! Many members here have X10 software running on all different flavors of Windows! True some of the older software won't work with Vista but lots of other software from other vendors won't either!
Please state exactly what your having problems with! Some one many have the fix,you may need to do a combination of things!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
He's right! - If you have Vista - the VA11A is useless.
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2007, 04:31:05 PM »

Just talked to a nice guy @ tech support.  He mentioned the forums, and one guy's workaround - but also stated it doesn't work for everybody.

"They're working on Vista drivers" - stay tuned to the boards was about all he could say.

I followed the SilverFox method and ended with the "Code 10" - will not load driver error - so I'm stopped dead.

Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.