Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Extreme Newbie  (Read 8370 times)

Sushiholic11

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Extreme Newbie
« on: April 14, 2008, 03:34:25 AM »

I am very new to the X10 automation scene and I have a couple of very basic questions that I hope someone can help me with.

I purchased the X10 SuperSocket Recept SR227/PA011 and X10 Decor Dimmer Switch WS12A/RWS17 with the hope of using the wall switch to control the receptical.

First off, is this possible? I was thinking of mounting the switch in a box with no load attached to it, basically just use the switch as a "controller" to turn the receptical on/off.

Do I need a "controller"?

Thanks for the help.

Bob

speedbugy

• Helpful Post Rating: 4
Re: Extreme Newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 07:08:24 AM »

You have to have power to the switch for it to work. May be able to take it apart and add a battery. Otherwise look for a deal on the switch you can control anywhere or get a remote that controls x10 modules. Here is a link to the wall switch you really need.

http://www.x10.com/automation/offer95.htm

Dan Lawrence

• Helpful Post Rating: 68
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 07:39:32 AM »

You also need a TM751 or a RR501 transceiver to convert the RF signals from SS13 to X10 powerline signals.
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

speedbugy

• Helpful Post Rating: 4
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2008, 08:50:26 AM »

Dan, wont the stick a switch work with the socketrocket ?

Puck

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2008, 09:27:37 AM »

I purchased the X10 SuperSocket Recept SR227/PA011 and X10 Decor Dimmer Switch WS12A/RWS17 with the hope of using the wall switch to control the receptical.

First off, is this possible?

This is not possible with these 2 devices. The WS12A is just an X10 dimmer switch and cannot control other X10 devices.