Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DVR/VCR/VHS Recorders for Wireless Camera?  (Read 24277 times)

autopilot

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
DVR/VCR/VHS Recorders for Wireless Camera?
« on: May 18, 2008, 11:46:42 PM »

I'm a home automation newbie and enthusiast and am still skimming before deciding which X10 set-up and/or equipment are appropriate for my needs. I'll have more questions and posts but this will be the first one for now. I'm not sure if I correctly phrased these questions but here it goes...

My objective is to provide a motion-activated video camera recording capability which is automatically recorded and can viewed or reviewed at a later time. What would be your recommended video recorder/s to be compatible for the X10 VCR/IR Commander (UX21A)? Will any VCR, VHS or DVD recorder or even PC-based DVR (using PC harddrive) work in conjunction with the UX21A to record a motion-activated wireless cam set-up? Also, are there better set-ups than these?   If so, any additional tips/advice are well appreciated. Thanks!
The basic, must-haves for home repair are duct tape if it moves and WD-40 if it doesn't...

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: DVR/VCR/VHS Recorders for Wireless Camera?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 09:21:10 PM »

..................... are there better set-ups than these?   If so, any additional tips/advice are well appreciated. Thanks!

Better is such an objective term....

The great thing about the VCR setup is the cost. More often or not it only requires getting the old VCR out and hooking it up. A DVD recorder works fine too... and quality is improved. Recording to your hard drive..... a very nice option. There are many options!

I record to a VCR, using the VCR commander (cost was my deciding feature there). However I also added an IP server (a device with it's own IP server built-in). It emails me clippets of video everytime the VCR is activated.