Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Dimming 40 watt Incandescent bulbs.  (Read 6390 times)

LittleLarry

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Dimming 40 watt Incandescent bulbs.
« on: August 22, 2008, 02:26:04 AM »

Hello. I am new to x10 and was thinking of trying to start out with a teeny tiny setup. I was hoping to start by controlling 2 small decorative lights:

http://www.amazon.com/Four-Geishas-Shoji-Lamp/dp/B000VDPAFQ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1219385447&sr=8-2

These lamps can only use a maximum of 60 watt incandescent bulbs because otherwise they would get too hot. So, I currently only use 40 watt bulbs, just to be on the safe side.

Anyway, I was hoping to be able to control both of them with the standard x10 lamp modules so that I could not only shut them on and off with a remote, but also, to be able to dim them.

I was wondering if anyone can tell me if 40 watt bulbs can be dimmed with an x10 lamp module, or if 40 watt bulbs are too low to where the dim effect would be lost?

I mean, if I dimmed a 40 watt bulb, would it actually dim from say 40 watts, down to say, 10 or 15 watts, and if so, what kind of increments would it use? Would it increment by 5 watts each time, or decrement by 5 watts every time the dim button is pressed, or would it go from like 40 watts down to 20 watts, and then off?

If I would have to use ActiveHome to get a nice dimming effect, it would possibly be worth it as well. I keep reading about the macros, etc. If a macro would be required to get dimming capability of say 40 watts down to 15 watts via 1 watt decrements, well, that might be a cool effect. I guess I just need to know if 40 watt bulbs can still be dimmed and look impressive while doing so or is 40 watts too small to be able to see a nice slow dimming effect. Hope that makes sense.

I also keep reading about the more expensive LM14A which sounds like I would need to use versus the cheaper $13.00 unit.