Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Basic Macro  (Read 15259 times)

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: Basic Macro
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2008, 08:33:02 PM »

Went back and reread your post. So it doesn't send a code for itself. Well I guess I have to go with plan B. If I understand correctly, his A2 PR511 can only send signals to A3, A4, A5, & A6. Right?

Correct sorta... the motion will cause up to +4 unit codes. DUSK also will allow 4 codes... +4 through +8.

If I was writting the macro (and setting up the floodlights) I wouldn't  (would NOT) put them on the same house code at all. Those codes are handy... but for an AHP macro... they just confuse things.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

narinesa

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 16
Re: Basic Macro
« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2008, 08:49:19 PM »

A1 will triger itself plus 4 other devices below A1. That is it can trigger A2,A3,A4,A5 via hardware switches.
It will also triger A2 on and off - perfect.

A2 will triger itself plus 4 other devices below A2. That is it can trigger A3,A4,A5,A6 via hardware switches.

A2 cannot trigger A1. It cannot go backward - only forward.

I want A2 to trigger A1 - which has to be done via a macro.
I am new to the macro.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: Basic Macro
« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2008, 09:24:43 PM »


I want A2 to trigger A1 - which has to be done via a macro.
I am new to the macro.


Don't forget.... for every macro ON... you will likely need a macro OFF.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

spam4us

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 152
Re: Basic Macro
« Reply #18 on: July 24, 2008, 12:27:05 AM »

You guys give me a headache. :o LOL
Here's my version without using any macros at all.

Get 1 WS467

Hardwire both the floodlights to it. (or get 2 ws467 and hardwire each floodlight to it's own ws467) Take the "eye" off of the PR511 and have it wired into an electric box as a stand alone sensor.  Set the WS467 to A1.  Set the PR511 to A16 and then set the +1 switch to the "in" position. 

When motion is detected, the PR511 will send an on command to A1 and your lights will come on.  When the off command is sent, your light (A1) go off.

Just to answer the anticipated question.......Yes this works because the PR511 has enough logic built in so that it will add +1 to 16 to get 1. you can even have lights 2,3,4 come on as well.

Here's a PR511 pic
http://kbase.x10.com/images/5/5c/PR511A.jpg

Now if you want to write a macro, you could put the ws467s on lets say g1.  Then the "a1 on" triggered by the Pr511 sensor would trigger a macro that turned on G1 (WS467).



Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: Basic Macro
« Reply #19 on: July 24, 2008, 09:30:23 AM »

...... Here's my version without using any macros at all.

Or a even simpler way is use the Leviton brand (X10) floodlights. Multiple units can operate as one system, when one unit detects motion all units on same code turn on at the same time.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.