Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DS7000 losing connection to Window Sensor  (Read 3927 times)

prb44t

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
DS7000 losing connection to Window Sensor
« on: November 05, 2008, 10:30:39 PM »

I just installed the DS7000 system about a week ago. It seems like every other day one of my 4 window sensors loses connection to the station. I get a slow flash on one of the zones, then when I arm the system it just chimes. I have to bypass the zone, open and close the window and then it's fine.

Any idea why this would be happening?
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: DS7000 losing connection to Window Sensor
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 07:16:00 AM »

The DS7000 is not receiving the DS10A's heartbeat.  The DS10A sends its status about every 60 minutes or so, the MS10As send it about every 90 minutes (plus or minus a few minutes).  Those signals let the DS7000 know that they're still alive.

You've got to either re-position the DS7000, move the DS10A (higher-up on the window), try a passive antenna on the DS10A (do a search here), or get a device that repeats the RF signal (like an SR731).

I had the problem, tried the passive antenna, but settled on an SR731.  If you're only doing the DS7000 and not AHP, the SR731 is the way to go, but if you use AHP, beware that you'll get, and have to deal with, the possibility of multiple signals.  For instance, one of my centrally located motion sensors sends a signal - The CM15A picks it up directly, as do both of my SR731'a, so AHP gets the same signal 3 times.

Search this forum, and read the Wiki.

Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

spam4us

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 152
Re: DS7000 losing connection to Window Sensor
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2008, 01:00:31 AM »

Agree with the above........Also..........make sure you don't have the DS7000 near anything that could interfere with the signal.  Something as inconspicuous as an extension cord nearby.

One thing I noticed when I first installed mine.  If you registered your ds10a's within a minute of each other, they may be trying to report their “I’m alive” signal back to the ds7000 at the same time & neither gets through.

I have 2 ds7000s with 26 DS10A's and 3 MS10A's installed in my house & found within the 1st 2 weeks, I had the same problem as you. By spacing out the register timeline a little, the problem went away.  Functioning great for over a year until I put new batteries in.  Once I registered everything again, the problem came back for awhile. 

One more thing.  Check the spring that holds the batteries in place.  I had a few where the battery contact wasn’t being made because the spring  wasn’t tensioned enough. I just stretched the spring a little and that cured it.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: DS7000 losing connection to Window Sensor
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2008, 03:10:22 AM »

.... re-position the DS7000, move the DS10A (higher-up on the window), try a passive antenna on the DS10A, or get a device that repeats the RF signal (like an SR731).

Another option (that I used) is hard wire the magnetic reed switches, to the DS10A's at more central area (where the console could be located). I've extended the wires on the DS10A by 30 feet... and have heard of [extentions] twice that.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.