Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Siren application help  (Read 5955 times)

bobver

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Siren application help
« on: December 28, 2008, 07:16:00 PM »

Hi All,
I’m a newbie to home security stuff so please forgive my lack of knowledge of X10’s products and their application.  I have a 12VDC, 30-watt siren.  I also have a 30-watt 120VAC/12VDC wall module power supply to power the siren.  I would like to mount the siren outside of my garage next to a driveway floodlight   What X10 components would be required to activate the siren upon detection of motion in a room inside the house whose center is about 30 ft. (line-of-sight) from the floodlight?  I would like to be able to arm and disarm the system upon leaving and returning to the house.  Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

BobVer 

x10dude

• Helpful Post Rating: 5
Re: Siren application help
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 08:16:54 PM »

Bob,

Did you get an answer to this (probably off line)? I'd be interested in something similar. In looking at your requirements, I would think that getting a motion sensor (ActiveEye MS16A) tied to a wireless transceiver (TM751) should do the trick. Set up the ActiveEye (from what I understand, it works better than the EagleEye) to the same code as the transceiver. Then, plug the siren's power supply to the transceiver itself. As soon as the EagleEye detects motion, it would send an "on" signal to the transceiver, which at that point would act as an appliance module and activate whatever it's attached to this outlet.

I currently use an ActiveEye to turn on a flourescent lamp plugged into a transceiver when someone walks into a room. At the same time, through ActiveHome, I set up a timer to turn on/off the same light by sending on/off commands to the transceiver from within ActiveHome.

I haven't tried your scenario, but I hope it works.

Good luck,

Frank

tom j

• Helpful Post Rating: 16