Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Security in a row home  (Read 4453 times)

HomeSweetHome

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Security in a row home
« on: March 02, 2009, 04:44:36 PM »

Hello! This is my first post.

I am trying to secure my house. The challenge is that I live in a row-house and the people who are threatening me/vandalizing the house are my next door neighbors. Can't move - disabled and on a limited income. But I am a retired Computer Science professor so I figure my brains are my best defense.

It is VERY IMPORTANT that my neighbors not find out that I use X10 systems. I rely on the lightening and remote controls every day and I would really hate to lose that functionality.

So my question is this: how to I set up motion sensors in my doorway, or outside without giving away that they are X10 linked? I scratched off the logo, but the switches are still under the cover.

Is it feasible to pull out the sensor part and solder it to a wire so that the sensor is outside but the switches are inside? Can anyone tell me step by step how to do this- my hands-on electronics experience is very limited.
Or maybe, a ruse is better- using some other company's sensor outside to turn on something that could trigger a X10 sensor inside.

I own most X10 equipment and the old Activehome (not pro since my new computer broke and I  am stuck with one which is too slow for pro) Thanks for any ideas!

HSH

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: Security in a row home
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 06:15:08 PM »

Is it feasible to pull out the sensor part and solder it to a wire so that the sensor is outside but the switches are inside? Can anyone tell me step by step how to do this- my hands-on electronics experience is very limited.
Or maybe, a ruse is better- using some other company's sensor outside to turn on something that could trigger a X10 sensor inside.