Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Any suggestions?  (Read 6749 times)

solberg123

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Any suggestions?
« on: April 28, 2009, 09:46:23 PM »

I've been reading the forum for a few days and I'm learning a lot, but you guys sound more like electrical engineers than X10 enthusiasts. Some of the information I'm reading is a little intimidating. I'm good with a screwdriver and I'm very capable with a computer, however I am not an electrician or a programmer.

I'm looking to set up a system to control my lights from my computer so I can use timers and such. I live in a new condominium building that was built 4 years ago. I have a small unit, 800 square feet or so. In my unit I have 3 CFL lamps. My overhead lights are 50w halogen floods. I also have two ceiling fans that use standard 40w ceiling fan light bulbs. My computer runs Windows XP.

Can I just buy the CFL lamp modules, AM466, a bunch of wall switch modules, WS467, and an AHP Computer Interface, CM15A, and set it up? I feel like this must be more complicated. I read about very complex problems people have with this product and it has me a little confused. Does it work? Is there something that's better? Obviously the pricing of this particular brand has my interest.

I like the idea of this product, and I thought it might work in my condo because of it's small size, but I just want to make the right decision. Any advice is appreciated greatly.

Also, does it matter how many light bulbs are on a light switch? In my bathroom for example, I have a standard overhead 60w bulb on the same switch as three 50w Edison halogen bulbs. Many of my overhead light switches also have multiple halogen bulbs on them. And is there a switch that could give me control of the ceiling fans themselves and not just the light bulbs on them?

Thanks again for your assistance.

TomG

• Helpful Post Rating: 10
Re: Any suggestions?