Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: help with lighting modules  (Read 3187 times)

Brickhouse

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
help with lighting modules
« on: May 14, 2009, 05:27:41 PM »

This is my first time posting, so please forgive me, but I couldn't find this in any of the forums.

I'm using an X10 powerhouse remote to control various lights throughout the house.  The lamps are plugged into LM465 modules.  I've had this setup for years and haven't changed anything.  The other day, one of my lights wouldn't turn on.  All the others do, so it's not a battery problem.  I tried changing modules and still nothing, so I plugged the lamp directly into the wall socket and it worked fine.  So it's not a wiring problem.  Then I took the questionable module and swapped it with another one.  It worked in the new location and the one I swapped it with also worked in it's original location.

The problem is when I plug in the lamp, which works, to the module, which works to a specific outlet, which works, the setup doesn't work.

I'm flummoxed. 

Can anyone help?

bitman

• Helpful Post Rating: 9
Re: help with lighting modules
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 05:36:06 PM »

Yup.

Try unplugging anything with a power brick transformer or switching power supply.
Major offenders are LCD TVs.

If that fixes it, you will need some x10 noise filters.

I picked up a free dead 37" LCD TV from the Craig and fixed it. Brought it home all proud and happy only to find that it killed all my master bedroom lights in the adjacent bed room. - Sigh. Time for another filter.

Powerline noise is cumulative and does not always seem logical while trouble shooting via module move.

« Last Edit: May 14, 2009, 05:37:42 PM by bitman »
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

Brickhouse

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 05:51:11 PM »

Thanks, but no good.