Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?  (Read 39061 times)

Nate2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32

I have an old ActiveHome kit, which uses the serial RS-232 port :(
Depending on which link you use, the new $49.99 ActiveHome Pro basic kit [with USB interface] includes different things:

Link A:
1  ActiveHome Professional Computer Interface and USB Cable (CM15A)    $99.99
1  ActiveHome Professional Software (SW31A)    $49.99

Link B:
http://www.x10.com/promotions/cm15a_ed_freesuite_onalert_0226_0416.html
= Contents of Link A +
1 Smart Macro Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW32A) $49.99
1 iWatchOut Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW33A) $69.99
1 myHouse Online Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW34A) $69.99
1 ActiveHome Pro - Home Security Solution (SW39A) $49.99

Link C:
http://www.x10.com/promotions/cm15a_am466_home_ql.html
= Contents of Link B +
1 3-pin CFL Lamp/Appliance Module (AM466) $13.99

Link D:
http://www.x10.com/whatsincluded/CM15A-ED-FREESUITE-ONALERT-SS13A.html
= Contents of Link B +
1 Slimline Switch Decorator White (SS13A)   $19.99 

Link E:
http://www.x10.com/promotions/cm15a_dollar.html

Same as Link B, less SW39A, plus one of the following for just $1 more:

Eagle Eye Motion Sensor
White Slimline Wireless Wall Switch
Heavy Duty Module
PalmPad Remote
Keychain Remote
Credit Card Controller
Socket Rocket


(Please verify the above before ordering)

Did I miss any other better (deal) configuration than Link C/D?
« Last Edit: July 12, 2009, 01:16:58 PM by Nate2 »
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2009, 11:16:15 AM »

I have an old ActiveHome kit, which uses the serial RS-232 port :(
Depending on which link you use, the new $49.99 ActiveHome Pro basic kit [with USB interface] includes different things:
...............Did I miss any other better (deal) configuration...?


I had the old active home (with the CM11A) myself... I wasn't impressed. You will be much happier with the AHP with the CM15A. X10 rarely removes a sale Page... so as a new items prices drops... the old ads ones remain up. It can be confusing! Sign-up for the "newsletter" to get the latest-greatest deals. But don't send them to your work email address... filters sometimes see the ads as spam... and the images are near softporn.

The $49.99 deal with the entire software suite AND some extra device (like a module, or remote) [included free] is the best deal I have seen. Which "extra device package" is best for you... is your call... the device you have a good use for is likely your best bet. 

After you receive the CM15A... you might experience RF range issues. There are many easy antenna mods and fixes posted here if you do. You can also "convert" your old active home files to the new AHP format. But the activehome software won't drive your new interface.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2009, 11:21:06 AM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13086
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2009, 03:13:31 PM »

I believe Deal C was the one I found awhile back.
Logged

Nate2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2009, 10:12:52 AM »

With all those different links, people are going to be clicking frantically all over x10.com to find the best configuration.
Generates many hits on x10.com  ;)

I'll see if I can the $15 Gift Certificate (for newsletter subscription) to apply towards my AHP purchase.
Logged

Nate2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2009, 10:42:03 AM »

I'll see if I can the $15 Gift Certificate (for newsletter subscription) to apply towards my AHP purchase.

Looks like that is for New Customers only.
(X10 informed me that I have been shopping with them since 1999)

Now how about a Old/Loyal Customer discount, eh?  -:)
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2009, 11:14:13 AM »

That doesn't seem to be on X10's sales plan.   ::)

I paid $59.98 for Active Pro and the CM15A in 2005.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2009, 11:19:05 AM by Dan Lawrence »
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2009, 03:25:58 PM »

(X10 informed me that I have been shopping with them since 1999)
Now how about a Old/Loyal Customer discount, eh?  -:)

Well.... I bought a spare CM15A from the scratch and dent tent <link for only $29.00 (some software is included).
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

cnpalmer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 27
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2009, 03:38:22 PM »

I found these 2 links recently...

http://www.x10.com/promotions/cm15a_ed_1sttime_porch.html
 
http://www.x10.com/promotions/cm15a_ed_freesuite_onalert_ss13a_0501.html
 
As stated above, which ever "add-in" is better for you is up to you, but the one with the remote and socket rocket seems to be better than the slim line switch IMO.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13086
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2009, 06:52:18 PM »

I don't know about the $15 gift certificate, but if you earn X10 Bucks. I have been told they can only be used for standard priced items and not the big deals that are always pushing.

I doubt I would get any newsletters anyway. I believe my ISP blocks X10 and most of the other forums where I have new message notifications turned on as I never get any of them now.  ???
Logged

Nate2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2009, 09:28:48 AM »

I realized many gotchas after I bought my AHP.
I was excited about getting all the plugins for free with AHP, including:

* iWatchOut Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW33A) worth $69.99
(but nobody said I needed to buy a VA11 or VA12 to use it, in addition to my existing Xcam2 and VR36)
(also, VA12 needs AHP v3.236)
I decided to use my Sony GigaPocket DVR software to record from my Xcam2 + VR36, when I need to.

* myHouse Online Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW34A) worth $69.99
(probably more reliable to use LogMeIn [free] instead of the above)

I've disabled the above 2 plugins.

Then the installation issues with AHP v3.236 ...
Had to go back to v3.228

Then the RF antenna range issues of the CM15A that came with AHP ...
Had to plug the CM15A away from my PC, which means I can't do remote control of my X10 devices until I fix the CM15A antenna.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2009, 01:59:13 PM »

I realized many gotchas after I bought my AHP.

Yeah... retail is full of what you call "gotchas". Basically all retail is just trying to "sell you stuff". Be sure to always read the fine print.

But even with all of the AHP's (CM15A) imperfections... it's an impressive device. I won't want to get along without mine.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2010, 08:25:55 AM »

I just found this deal for $50

http://www.x10packagedeals.com/productdetail.aspx?parentid=0&cid=40&pid=180

1 - ActiveHome Professional Computer Interface and USB Cable (CM15A)
1 - Socket Rocket (LM15A)
1 - Slimline Switch Decorator White (SS13A)
1 - ActiveHome Professional Software (SW31A)
1 - Smart Macro Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW32A)
1 - iWatchOut Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW33A)
1 - myHouse Online Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW34A)
1 - ActiveHome Pro - Home Security Solution (SW39A)

Really just wont onalert but for that price get it all. I guess i can trash cm19a what youguys think ?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13086
Re: ActiveHome Pro kit - different configurations, same price?
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2010, 10:36:44 AM »

The Home Automation Store is an X10 Distributor, but I have seen no complaints about them.

I checked all over the X10 sites for deal packages and none include more than the one you linked to.
For the same price of the software you can get an interface and all the add ons.
Maybe the best way to go and you would not have to have the computer on 24/7.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2010, 10:40:31 AM by Brian H »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.