Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Apartment buzzer  (Read 4502 times)

tbielman

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Apartment buzzer
« on: August 24, 2009, 06:15:51 PM »

New to the forum, but I did search for solutions to this before posting and I couldn't find anything.

I live in a condo with a buzzer system for the front door. When someone wants in, they hit the button for my unit.

Then I get up off the couch (obviously, here is the problem :) ) and go to a self-contained intercom unit  (not tied to phone lines) on my wall near the door.
There is a big button that I hit, which sends a signal to the front door and unlocks it.

The intercom on my wall is old and seems pretty straight forward; its a big button.

I have installed X10 with AHP all over the condo, controlling lights, air conditioning, etc.

I just don't know which module I can wire into the intercom ?

Tyler

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 12981
Re: Apartment buzzer
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 06:37:00 PM »

If the big button you push is on a low voltage control circuit.
The UM506 Universal Module with a low voltage switch in it. Could be wired across the original button.
The UM506 can be set to momentary where an On commands flips the switch for about three seconds or set to go On with an X10 On command and Off with an X10 Off command. Also has a small beeper on it that can also be triggered. Mode switch picks Beeper Only; Switch Only or Both and another switch momentary or sustained.

http://www.x10.com/automation/um506_s.html
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7089
Re: Apartment buzzer
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 07:42:08 PM »

To add to Brian H's well described setup. The Icon remote now does X10 RF... so you could use the same control [the Icon remote] to let in a visitor... as you would be using to surf channels. That is really effective multitasking!
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

tbielman

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Apartment buzzer
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 08:11:31 PM »

You guys are awesome, thanks for responding.

I think I will try the UM506 that you linked to.
After looking at it, I can't determine the difference is between the UM506 and the PUM01 (?)

I have a Harmony 1000 that talks to my X10, so I think that all-in-one remote business will work out just fine :)

tb
« Last Edit: August 24, 2009, 08:13:06 PM by tbielman »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6110
Re: Apartment buzzer
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2009, 08:18:15 PM »

You guys are awesome, thanks for responding.

I think I will try the UM506 that you linked to.
After looking at it, I can't determine the difference is between the UM506 and the PUM01 (?)

I have a Harmony 1000 that talks to my X10, so I think that all-in-one remote business will work out just fine :)

tb
Yes it needs to plug in to outlet.

UM506 and PUM01 are essentialy the same. The PUM01 is the X10 Pro version.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/PUM01
http://www.x10.com/pro/automation/pum01.htm
http://www.activehomepro.com/modules.html
« Last Edit: August 24, 2009, 08:22:27 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 12981
Re: Apartment buzzer
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2009, 08:23:16 PM »

UM506 is the X10 version. PUM01 is the X10Pro.
Basically as dave w said. Same unit; different Logo on the case.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.