Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How to setup snapshot webcam that posts photo online every 30 seconds  (Read 5185 times)

mbradford101

• Helpful Post Rating: 0

I'm wondering exactly what I need to buy to setup a webcam that would be attached to the outside of my house - that would take a photo every 30 seconds - and would automatically post it online like the ones on this page:

http://www.estesparklife.com/Estes-Park-CO-Webcams.htm

If you can tell me exactly the items I'd need in order to do this the CHEAPEST way possible, that'd be great. My computer would be about 40 feet from the camera. So if you can tell me what wiring I'd need (or what 50-100 ft. cable to buy), that would also help. I have no experience with this at all.

The camera can be stationery and just needs to take a fairly decent image outdoors. It's not for security, just a scenic view to post online like the other webcams shown on the link above.

Thanks!

-

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: How to setup snapshot webcam that posts photo online every 30 seconds
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 11:40:07 AM »

.... My computer would be about 40 feet from the camera. So if you can tell me what wiring I'd need (or what 50-100 ft. cable to buy), that would also help. I have no experience with this at all.

The camera can be stationery and just needs to take a fairly decent image outdoors. It's not for security, just a scenic view to post on line like the other webcams shown on the link above.
Thanks!

Well if your planning on using something like a little WebCam normally used for chat... that won't work. The cheap WebCams are USB... which is limited to 16 feet from the PC. Also the weather would kill a non-weather resistant camera.