Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: SR227 Intermittent Operation  (Read 12251 times)

zimbricd

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
SR227 Intermittent Operation
« on: November 29, 2009, 07:41:36 PM »

I have been using a couple of SR227 X10 receptacles for about 7 years now in my home. I use these exclusively for Christmas decorations, in particular I have about three (3) strings of standard indoor Christmas lights on each SR227. I noticed that starting about two (2) years ago, the SR227 units are having an issue with turning on from an X10 signal. When a signal is sent to turn ON (both are set to D15), they turn ON-OFF-ON-OFF in rapid succession within about 250mS and then remain in the OFF state. If I remove the load (lights) from the outlet, the SR227s work fine. But as soon as I plug in the string of lights, the problem returns.

I just purchased a couple of XPPF plugin noise filters, which should be here this week. I will see if this helps the problem, but I thought I would post here in case others have seen this and have a different solution.

Just for background sake, I have an X10 Pro Phase Couple installed in my home, an RR501 on House Code D and I am using a custom controller that sends serial commands to an Insteon 2412S Modem. But, I have seen the same behavior with ActiveHome software with a CM11A as well as simply hitting the D15 ON on a HR12A Remote. So, I don't think it has anything to do with the controller or signal being sent, since it seems to happen with any hardware/software/controller combination including no controller at all.

Any help, suggestions or comments are welcome!
"The man who sets out to carry a cat by its tail learns something that will always be useful and which never will grow dim or doubtful." --Mark Twain

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: SR227 Intermittent Operation
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2009, 08:35:03 PM »