Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Newbie to X-10! Can someone point me to....  (Read 2798 times)

gavilaso

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Newbie to X-10! Can someone point me to....
« on: December 21, 2009, 09:35:38 AM »

HI all from Puerto Rico, I'm complete new to X-10, I know what it is for and everything but i don't know how to start... can someone help me out on how to start. I would like to control the ligth of my home... i work as a IT so i know how to work with PC and Firewall etc etc but i don't know what do i need to start with x-10 at home....

Can some one give me a litter hand?

Thanks in advance!

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Newbie to X-10! Can someone point me to....
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 10:11:27 AM »

You don't know what to ask, so you might look at the X10 website to get ideas and help you get to the point of asking questions. Look at the "Home Automation" section first.
Starting points would be: for X10lighting control, "Lamp Modules" and "Wall Switches" for INCANDESCENT lights. There are "special" wall switches and Appliance Modules that can control flourescent lights but it is going to be pretty confusing in the begining. Do you just want to control lights remotly, or automate at the same time? etc. etc. etc. Check out X10.com.
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

gavilaso

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 10:58:41 AM »

Thank Dave W for your reply.. i just spoke with x10 com and the hay a home automation starter kit, for $99.00 and i think i'm goint to start with it.. but my bigger question was if i need to leaver the pc alway on or if there were a device that does not requered the PC... and i guest not, that i need to have the pc 24/7 on...