Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: X10 Control of Motorized Awning  (Read 5482 times)

seedyn

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
X10 Control of Motorized Awning
« on: January 31, 2010, 07:32:27 PM »

I hope this post is in the correct forum.

I am an X10 newbie.  I am starting to look at all the things I can automate in the home with the system.  I currently have a starer kit, but as I gain experience, I am excited about the expansion possibilites.  One possibility I am wondering about is if anybody has integrated a Sunsetter Motorized awning to the X10 system.  The control for the awning is strictly an RF remote control which can control the awning extending out, in or any point in between.  Is there anybody that has done this kind of interface?  If not, does anybody have any clever ideas on what I can try?

Thanks,
Seedyn

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: X10 Control of Motorized Awning
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 12:35:50 PM »

seedyn

Assumimg you do not want to hack into the actual motor control on the Sunsetter, the easiest and safest way would be to buy a second Sunsetter RF remote and hack it. This requires soldering and "half fast" engineering skills   ;D  and I would not do it UNLESS the Sunsetter has built in limit switches (we had Sunsetter elec awning on a motor home which did have limit switches so I assume they use same design on their home stuff).

Use two X10 Universal Modules, these will give you a contact closure when they are sent an ON code to their individual address. An OFF signal opens the contacts, or you can select a momentary closure mode also.

Wire one Universal module contacts across the Sunsetter remote's UP button contacts and the second Universal module across the Sunsetter's DOWN button contacts. You now have two X10 addresses that will either raise or lower the awning, and you can do all kinds of neat stuff once you have that.