Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"  (Read 5189 times)

MaxxSpazz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« on: February 22, 2010, 09:36:10 PM »

Some background:  I already have several light switches and lamp modules set up on House circuit D.  Just this week I installed the X10 Security Console with ten door/light modules on circuit G; everything was working fine until I decided to add an Eagle Eye motion detector (installed on my front porch) to circuit D to control my already-existing front porch light (circuit D, number 3).  Now, when the motion detector is activated the front porch light comes on as expected and then goes off after no motion is detected as expected; after it turns off, however, my front door security module shows up on my security console as a flashing light indicating that it is no longer communicating with the console correctly.  Additionally, my foyer light (on house circuit D, number 4) turns on as soon as the front porch light shuts off.

Is there some kind of cross-talk going on between the circuits?  Is it possibly some other type of interference?  This problem is strange and it is vexing me!

Thanks for any assistance.
Logged

dbemowsk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 428
    • PHP Web Scripting
Re: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2010, 12:04:51 AM »

I believe this is due to the dusk/dawn sensor on the EagleEye.  It works on the code+1 principle where if you set the EagleEye to sense on D3 then D4 is used as the dusk/dawn sensor.  When the light goes out, it thinks it is dark and turns on your module that is on D4.

Hope that helps.

Dan Bemowski
Logged
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2010, 12:10:45 AM »

While it is possible the Eagle Eye's RF signal is interfering with the signal from the door module, I can't really sort that one out.

However, I can tell you your problem with the your foyer light is that the Eagle Eye has a dusk / dawn feature that transmits on the house code you set it to and the unit code you set it to + 1.  This means, in your case, the Eagle Eye set to D3 sends D3 On and D3 Off for motion, and sends D4 On when it sees light and D4 Off when the light goes away.  So, the porch light turning off will be seen by the Eagle Eye as "Dusk" or just "It got dark out" and it will send D4 Off to notify you which, obviously turns of the foyer light at address D4!

You either need to change the address of the foyer light to avoid D4, or place some electrical tape over the Eagle Eye's "Dusk / Dawn" sensor.

A more long-winded way of saying what dbemowsk posted while I was still typing.   rofl

 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

MaxxSpazz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2010, 12:32:05 AM »

Thanks to both of you for this simple yet very helpful information.  I set the foyer light on D4 to D6 and that resolved the problem! 
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2010, 12:40:17 AM »

Thanks to both of you for this simple yet very helpful information.  I set the foyer light on D4 to D6 and that resolved the problem! 

Glad that helped!   :)%

 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

dbemowsk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 428
    • PHP Web Scripting
Re: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2010, 12:47:29 AM »

Bill, do we get more winded the older we get?  Maybe that's why grandpas stories were so long....  ;D  rofl

Dan B.
Logged
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Set up new system and getting "cross talk"
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2010, 12:49:26 AM »

Bill, do we get more winded the older we get?  Maybe that's why grandpas stories were so long....  ;D  rofl

Dan B.

Hey!  Who you callin' old?   ???   rofl

 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.