Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Attaching servo to HVAC register  (Read 3217 times)

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Attaching servo to HVAC register
« on: February 21, 2010, 01:43:14 PM »

I found this article:
http://www.altenergymag.com/emagazine.php?issue_number=02.09.01&article=muziani

From reading it, I can't really picture in my mind how to attach the servo to the register...
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Attaching servo to HVAC register
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2010, 03:38:02 PM »

The article is from 2002 and since most wall/floor registers (for both hot air heat and central A/C) have a small lever that enables the user to have the register fully open, fully closed or any point in between).  A servo could be connected to the lever. 
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Attaching servo to HVAC register
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2010, 04:15:45 PM »

The article is from 2002 and since most wall/floor registers (for both hot air heat and central A/C) have a small lever that enables the user to have the register fully open, fully closed or any point in between).  A servo could be connected to the lever. 

Yes I am aware of the lever, and I am also aware how to drive a servo using PWM with an MCU. I am not however able to picture how he is describing the servo to register hookup.
Logged

dbemowsk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 428
    • PHP Web Scripting
Re: Attaching servo to HVAC register
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2010, 05:02:13 PM »

If you are looking to use a servo like this one:

All you should need is some small L brackets to hold the servo onto the register somehow and then connect the arm on the servo to the arm that activates the flap on the register.  I guess though that it would depend on the register you use and the layout of it to determine what kind of servo would work for it.  Just make sure you have clearance on both sides of the servo sweep so that you don't jam up the motor.

Dan B.
Logged
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.