Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How can I put a better antenna on my VR31A?  (Read 28876 times)

calldrin

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
How can I put a better antenna on my VR31A?
« on: April 24, 2010, 02:00:42 PM »

I have a VR31A and it is having problems getting a good signal from my 3 cameras.
The cameras are located about 120 degrees apart and about 30 feet away,  I need a omni directional antenna.
Any help on this ???
BTW .. I'm a real newbie with X10 ;-(

Thanks,

Chuck Alldrin
Chico, CA

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: How can I put a better antenna on my VR31A?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2010, 03:16:57 PM »

I have a VR31A and it is having problems getting a good signal from my 3 cameras.
The cameras are located about 120 degrees apart and about 30 feet away,  I need a omni directional antenna.
Any help on this ???

Thirty feet... is well within range so direction is likely the only problem. I have had good results by pointing the cameras to a mutual corner. Then... pointing the receivers patch antenna to the same corner (sorta like a bank-shot when playing pool).
Home Automation is an always changing technology

calldrin

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2010, 04:04:54 PM »

Any help on this ???

Thirty feet... is well within range so direction is likely the only problem. I have had good results by pointing the cameras to a mutual corner. Then... pointing the receivers patch antenna to the same corner (sorta like a bank-shot when playing pool).

Dave, do  you mean you are bouncing the signal off the walls?
I get a strong video signal but it has horiz. lines/bars going through the picture.
If I get real close .. maybe 5 to 10' , with nothing between then I get rock solid picture.
Have you heard of anyone doing a vertical omni antenna or somehow extending it into the attic?

Thanks,
Chuck

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2010, 04:22:03 PM »