Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Controlling an appliance module behind a UPS  (Read 5843 times)

TheKub

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
Controlling an appliance module behind a UPS
« on: May 13, 2010, 06:54:28 PM »

I will start off by saying I am very new to x10 and home automation in general.  What lead me to x10 (and ultimately here) is that occasionally my cable modem will crap out and need to be unplugged briefly to be reset.  I know there are purpose built devices for things like this but all of my searching uncovered that they had far more features (large wattage, web interface, multi ports, etc) than I was looking for and were far more than I was willing to spend to fix this issue ($150-$300+). 

That’s when I stumbled into the x10 appliance module and the CM15A.  So reading up a bit on it I bit the bullet and picked up a set (along with a bunch of other odds and ends to play with  ;D).  Now I’ve spend the past couple of days familiarizing myself with the software\hardware and wanted to start working on actually on fixing the problem I started with.