Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New to X10 Any tips, or info?  (Read 4474 times)

Marines24

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
New to X10 Any tips, or info?
« on: September 20, 2010, 11:49:07 PM »

I am new to Home Automation as a whole. I am really looking forward to starting. Can anyone help me out with this process. Would love any kind of help or tips. I also have so many questions about different products and which ones i should use. Thanks

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: New to X10 Any tips, or info?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 12:42:53 PM »

I am new to Home Automation as a whole. I am really looking forward to starting. Can anyone help me out with this process. Would love any kind of help or tips. I also have so many questions about different products and which ones i should use. Thanks
Decide on an automation system: X10 is least expensive and oldest technology. It uses PLC (powerline carrier) signals to control lights and appliances. Other systems are Z-Wave, UPB, Insteon. All are between 2 and 10 times X10's cost. But X10, being the oldest technology, needs effort to get it working reliably in your home. You might look at the trouble shooting information here http://jvde.us/ and look at the troubleshooting tab which provides an excellent overview of possible difficulties. 

If you decide on X10, go to X10.com and Smarthome.com. You can learn a lot just from looking at the products available.
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brandt

• Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 01:56:54 PM »

I recommend a book called Smart Home Hacks, which planted a lot of ideas in my head  :)%

hawk1

• Helpful Post Rating: 21
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2010, 02:58:01 PM »