Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Keep kids lights off at night?  (Read 7443 times)

jstoddard

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Keep kids lights off at night?
« on: November 05, 2010, 01:22:12 PM »

I've got young twins who like to get up and party in the middle of the night. They turn the lights on in their room and just go to town. We've tried incentives, etc, but what we found worked well was simply unscrewing the light bulbs in their overhead light fixture. Problem mostly solved during the summertime hours when it was light later. Now that it is getting dark much earlier, I'm trying to find a way to keep their bedroom lights on until they go to bed and not allow those lights to be turned on until morning.

I have been using x10 switches in my house for years, so I'm not a total newbie.

I think what I need is some sort of inline module wired in to the lighting fixture along with a x10 switch which could be programmed to control that light fixture. I'm not sure how I program it so that the light switch only works during certain hours. I do have some extra socketrockets, but I don't think they will work in this situation as when the traditional non-x10 lightswitch is switched off, it will cut the power to them and then they will no longer receive x10 commands.

I have ActiveHome Pro if that is any help.

Any assistance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jeff

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Keep kids lights off at night?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2010, 01:53:54 PM »

I think what I need is some sort of inline module wired in to the lighting fixture along with a x10 switch which could be programmed to control that light fixture. I'm not sure how I program it so that the light switch only works during certain hours. I have ActiveHome Pro if that is any help.