Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's  (Read 11348 times)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12975
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2010, 03:09:06 PM »

The WS12A could be used where the incandescent dimmers where; but the bulbs would have to be incandescent and not a CFL.

Yes it does look like you have the white Neutral wire you need.
Logged

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2010, 05:02:05 PM »

thanks again for all the help, just ordered some xps3's, and some xppf's and some other modules to start off my home automation. Quick question since im still just starting out.

the ds7000 security kit can be completely separate if i wanted it to right? just set it on its own house code than my other stuff ill be doing with AHP?

cant wait  :)%
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12975
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #17 on: November 07, 2010, 06:35:30 PM »

Yes it can be completely separate. If you choose.

If your AHP comes with the On Alert add on. It can also interface with the security Console.

Modules can share addresses between the two if you want lets say have a lamp module flash with an alarm and have AHP control it for other chores.
Logged

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2010, 07:41:36 PM »

Yes it can be completely separate. If you choose.

If your AHP comes with the On Alert add on. It can also interface with the security Console.

Modules can share addresses between the two if you want lets say have a lamp module flash with an alarm and have AHP control it for other chores.

hrm this is going to get interesting!!

im going to write down all these codes and draw out a map lol

Logged

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2010, 02:42:53 PM »

thankyou for all the info, i have read most of those and some i havent.

I will look into phase coupler / repeater if i start running into issues

found this one i might get

http://www.smarthome.com/4826A/SignaLinc-4-Pin-Plug-in-Coupler-Repeater/p.aspx

seems it got good reviews
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12975
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2010, 06:14:18 PM »

If you need a coupler repeater. I would look at the XTB-IIR from JV Engineering.
Second choice maybe an ACT CR234.
I believe the Smarthome unit has been reported to cause X10 signal firestorms in some installations with a CM15A.
Logged

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #22 on: November 14, 2010, 12:40:11 AM »

BUMP!


just got my xps3's

anybody know definitively what to do with the ground wire? should i just toss it back of the switch box? or wrap it around one of the ears of the xps3?
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #23 on: November 14, 2010, 12:50:01 AM »

wrap it, less you have a metal box, then clip it/clamp it to the box.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #24 on: November 14, 2010, 12:57:27 AM »

thankyou, i have a plastic box and will wrap it around one of the ears of the new switch.
Logged

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #25 on: November 14, 2010, 09:27:36 PM »

dont you just love install pics?



this is the xps3 controlling an outlet with a incandescent lamp and works great! I wrapped the ground around one of the ears and everything is good, from the switch. I dont have the rest of my setup to control it with an x10 controller so ill try that when it comes in.

Will install one of the switches tomorrow to some cfl's, hopefully it just goes just as smooth.

Mapped out my house on some paper and writing down modules as i go.

thanks again for the help i get here  >!
Logged

anthonylavado

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 198
  • At a position relative to the observer.
    • anthonylavado.com
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #26 on: November 15, 2010, 12:47:28 AM »

dont you just love install pics?
....
Mapped out my house on some paper and writing down modules as i go.
....
thanks again for the help i get here  >!
You're welcome!
Install pics are always good to have.
P.S. Mapping your house is one of the best things you can do.
Logged
Follow me on Twitter: @anthonylavado
Now making guest appearances in the Home Automation Chat Room

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12975
Re: WS13A right choice for me? newer home with cfl's
« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2010, 06:01:02 AM »

Looks good.
I also agree on mapping your circuits and what is controlled by each breaker.
In my case with a mix of Insteon and X10. I also have the six digit Insteon ID in a log.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.