Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Change in magnetic pulse signal X10  (Read 4664 times)

alegon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 30
    • Siatron Automation
Change in magnetic pulse signal X10
« on: November 24, 2010, 10:47:26 AM »

A client has a proximity sensor that sends a magnetic pulse when triggered. I need to turn that information into pulse and to trigger an x10 device.
Does anyone know how shall I do that? -:)
Logged
Home Automation in Brazil

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13104
Re: Change in magnetic pulse signal X10
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2010, 12:30:13 PM »

Double check your specifications on the sensor.
I have never seen a proximity sensor that sends a magnetic pulse.
Some may output a voltage or simulate a switch closing.

If you can get the manufacturers part number for the sensor. We maybe able to better determine what you need.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2010, 12:33:01 PM by Brian H »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: Change in magnetic pulse signal X10
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2010, 01:30:34 PM »

A client has a proximity sensor that sends a magnetic pulse when triggered. I need to turn that information into pulse and to trigger an x10 device.
Yeah, I agree with Brian. How does a proximity detector "send a magnetic pulse"? And you want "to turn that information into pulse...." what does that mean?  If you do need a "pulse";  what amplitude?  what duration? 

Perhaps the proximity detector senses a magnetic field and then triggers(?).

The X10 "Power Flash" will send out a X10 "HCUC ON" when triggered and a X10 "HCUC OFF" when the trigger goes away. The "trigger" can be a contact closure, low voltage AC, or low voltage DC, or an audio signal. It might trigger from a DC pulse but I think it needs to be fairly long in duration (half a second or more).

Need more information on the output of that proximity detector.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2010, 01:33:31 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

alegon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 30
    • Siatron Automation
Re: Change in magnetic pulse signal X10
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2010, 02:47:12 PM »

Sorry where did I put electric pulse consider dry contact. Brian, from what I understand PowerFlasher is what I need, when it receives a dry contact it activates an x10, is that right?
I can turn a dry contact data, it will be great for me because I can integrate my system with other devices that send contact closures.
Logged
Home Automation in Brazil

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13104
Re: Change in magnetic pulse signal X10
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2010, 03:42:59 PM »

Yes a dry contact can trigger a X10 PF284 or X10Pro PSC01  PowerFlasher Module.
http://www.x10pro.com/pro/pdf/psc01.pdf
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.