Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: "All Lights On' with CFL's  (Read 9111 times)

cajunfries

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
"All Lights On' with CFL's
« on: November 30, 2010, 10:56:53 PM »

Hi Guys,
Newbie here, but been fooling with X10 off and on for longer than you want to know.  I've been updating most of my incandescent bulbs in the house with CFL's (fluorescents), then started adding X10 modules everywhere. I really want to be able to utilize the "All Lights On" option of my controller in case of a late night break-in or home invasion, but I'm sure everyone knows the fluorescent rules & regs.  Is there a lamp-type module (plug-in preferred over wall) that will handle CFL's but also respond to the "All Lights On" command?  (Thanks)

george536

• Helpful Post Rating: 2
Re: "All Lights On' with CFL's
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2010, 12:21:48 AM »

from what ived read i dont think there is, most of my lights are cfls turned on by xps3s which will do all lights on.

anthonylavado

• Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • At a position relative to the observer.
    • anthonylavado.com
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2010, 01:15:10 AM »

The default Appliance Modules from X10 that are commonly used to control CFLs are not Lamp Modules, therefore they do not respond to "All Lights On".

Solution?
If you're using ActiveHome Pro, you can set up a Macro to turn on all the units you want with a button press. Just dedicate a Unit Code to this macro, and when you build it in AHP, include all the items, lights or not, that you'll want to turn on, should something happen. Then you can have this triggered by, say, Unit 8 on a plug-in controller, or a remote.

Press the button, the macro sees it, turns on the lights you've programmed - profit!
« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 05:27:09 PM by anthonylavado »
Follow me on Twitter: @anthonylavado
Now making guest appearances in the Home Automation Chat Room

Brian H

• Community Organizer