Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a  (Read 3809 times)

signguy321

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« on: December 09, 2010, 07:40:54 PM »

I am a newbie and am trying to control a light using a ws467 wall switch and a ss13a slimline switch.  After installation and setting the house and unit codes, I push the button on the slimline switch and nothing.  I push the button on the slimline switch and it works flawlessly.  So I checked the codes on the slimline switch and they are set corectly as well.  Any Ideas??

Thanks
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2010, 07:49:07 PM »

do you have a wireless transceiver? TM751...RR501
Logged

signguy321

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2010, 07:55:11 PM »

No I don't i thought I had all I needed.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7089
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2010, 08:14:18 PM »

X10 technology uses both RF (Radio Frequency) and PLC (PowerLine Commands). The PLC is sorta-like a radio signal sent on the power/electric line. And can only be detected/read/heard by X10 devices (intended to detect and use the signal) that are connected to your house wiring.

Your wall switch (WS467) uses (reads/hears) the PLC's.

While the slimline switch (SS13A) only sends a RF signal. You need a device (like the TM751 or RR501) to transceive (or receive and convert) the RF to PLC.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

signguy321

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2010, 08:15:14 PM »

Thanks alot, that makes sense
Logged

signguy321

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2010, 05:20:28 PM »

OK I just got my TM751 and plugged it in and still nothing..........what gives

The house codes are the same and I am sure the remote is programmed right
« Last Edit: December 13, 2010, 05:24:22 PM by signguy321 »
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7089
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2010, 05:59:28 PM »

OK I just got my TM751 and plugged it in and still nothing..........what gives

Homes have two phases... two 110-120 volt lines. When ran together that's how we get 220-240 for AC, Stoves, and Clothes dryers. It is likely your TM751 is on a different phase than your WS467. Try the TM751 in some different places.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

signguy321

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2010, 06:18:00 PM »

Well I had things working for a while and now not so much.  I moved the 751 around to several locations and have the same problem.  After a little bit of looking I figured out the 751 is on the same circuit as the modules I am trying to control.  I am stumped now.  Any other Ideas?

Thanks
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7089
Re: controlling a ws467 with a ss13a
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2010, 06:23:56 PM »

.... Any other Ideas?

The slimline switch doesn't have much range... you should hear the TM751 "Click" when it receives the signal on the [unit number] 1 of the house address your using. If it doesn't it is an RF [likely range] problem. You could try putting a new battery if the slimline switch. I think the slimline switch also tends to lose its setting when the battery gets low.

If the TM751 "clicks"... then you likely have a signal sucker or line noise.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2010, 06:45:32 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.