Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Simon XT and Every Light in the House  (Read 11415 times)

mrgifford7

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Simon XT and Every Light in the House
« on: February 10, 2011, 10:54:27 PM »

I apologize if this has been asked before, I did a search but I ended up finding a whole lot of posts from a person named Simon.  Anyway, I'm totally brand new to x10 concept.  I have the AHP $49 special, 4 lamp modules, and a wire-in module for the porch lamp. Kit grows every 2 weeks when I get my allowance from the wife.  :)

Anyway,  I have an alarm system (from ADT) in place that uses the GE Simon XT console.  What I've been trying to figure out how to do is when the alarm goes off (after dark) I want every light in the X10 system (will be all of them eventually) to turn on so that my wife and I know exactly who to shoot at.  I've read that the XT is x10 capable with a change in the transformer, but it concerns me that all of my reading basically says it will only control a single house code/unit#.

My thought is maybe hooking a Powerflash to the external Siren hookups and create a macro in AHP to turn on all lighting when it receives a signal from the Powerflash.  Does this make sense?  Is it possible?  Is this the route that I need to be taking?

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: Simon XT and Every Light in the House
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 06:12:25 AM »

If the Simon XT can send an X10 Address {House and Unit Code} On and Off. You could use that address to trigger a macro for the lights on a different address.

The powerflash triggered by the siren output could also be used to send the X10 On and Off for the macro. It can also be set to a mode where it flashes all the lights on the address it is set to when triggered.

mrgifford7

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 11:21:21 PM »