Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Glass Break Sensor  (Read 7220 times)

BrendaM

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Glass Break Sensor
« on: January 18, 2011, 02:53:41 PM »

Good afternoon!  Since our car was broken into right after Christmas, we've decided to take the plunge into the world of X10 home security.  After perusing the forum for several hours, this will probably be the first of many posts over the next week, as our system is scheduled for delivery on Wednesday!

In the meantime...my husband mistakenly purchased a Honeywell Glass Break sensor (HONEYWELL ADEMCO FG730), not realizing that there was a difference between wireless and hard-wired.  Now we're wondering if we should return it, or if there is a way that we can still incorporate it into our system. 

If returning it is our only option, could someone please suggest an appropriate glass break detector w/dual technology?

Thanks in advance!


Brenda M

Our starter components:
6   Door/Window Sensor   DS10A
1   1 YEAR WARRANTY CERTIFICATE   IN76A
2   Security Keychain Remote   KR10A
1   Screw-in Lamp Module   LM15A
1   Lamp Module   LM465
2   Wireless Motion Sensor   MS10A
1   Voice Dialer Console   PS561
1   SECURITY/HOME AUTOMATION REMOTE CONTROL   PSR01
1 Extra sirens
6 Extra sensors
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10505
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2011, 03:09:47 PM »

There is a thread on the forum here where I discribe (with pictures) how to wire a glass break sensor to a X10 door window sensor. An advanced search should turn it up.
Unless another member has the time to search for you! ::) :'
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
  • Posts: 6116
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2011, 03:14:01 PM »

I believe the FG730 has N.O and N.C. connections so you will be able to connect the FG730 to one of the DS10s using the N.C. connection. The FG730 needs 12V dc in addition to the DS10 connection.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

BrendaM

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2011, 03:42:52 PM »

Thanks, both of you.  I'll do a detailed search and look for the wiring info., then send my husband back here when he gets stuck later this week.  I appreciate your time!

Brenda
Logged

BrendaM

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2011, 07:16:31 PM »

Hello again!  Well, after looking at the details involved with hooking up the sensor that we already have, we think we're going to return it in hopes of purchasing a wireless one that's compatible.  So I'd really appreciate a few models of those that might do the trick...or at least an idea of what I should be searching for.

Our delivery date was scheduled for this evening, but alas...no system has arrived.  Hopefully tomorrow!

Brenda
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
  • Posts: 6116
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2011, 08:05:07 PM »

Hello again!  Well, after looking at the details involved with hooking up the sensor that we already have, we think we're going to return it in hopes of purchasing a wireless one that's compatible. 
There is no self contained, wireless, glass break detector that is compatible with X10 DS7000 (PS561). The only way to do it is a third party glass break detector wired to a DS10 wireless security transmitter.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2011, 08:14:47 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10505
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2011, 09:11:00 AM »

Dave w is correct, as of now!
This is why I posted the how to add a glass break sensor pics.
Maybe in the future X10 will add this module.
It is unlikely another company will make a compatible one as we are talking security and companies don't like to share security info!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13269
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2011, 12:49:46 PM »

Maybe they could resurrect the GB10A.  ;D
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/manuals/gb10a-is.pdf
Logged

BrendaM

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2011, 06:42:31 PM »

Thanks again...I assumed that they DID make a sensor and that it was just "out of stock."  Bummer. 
Logged

BrendaM

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Glass Break Sensor
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2011, 09:12:53 PM »

Just for closure, we ended up using a motion detector in the areas where we were initially going to use the glassbreak detector.  For now it'll do, covering the area if anyone tries to get in regardless of the method.  Thanks for all your help!

Brenda
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.