Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Remote user problem & browser support  (Read 4984 times)

schmuttis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Remote user problem & browser support
« on: May 06, 2011, 01:20:22 PM »

Problem #1
I've tried on several computers today but I'm just not able to connect to my cameras via http://gate.x10.com. On computers/browsers where I can bring up the vanguard screen, click the connect button, it tries to connect but then disconnects. Does their site go down or am I having some type of problem? I do have my vanguard server set online.

Problem #2
Firefox is my preferred browser but I'm unable to load the vanguard screen in firefox version 4.0.1. I've tried 3 different IE tab plugins. Is anyone successfully able to connect with firefox 4.0.1? If so, which tab extension are you using?

Question
Is it possible to use Safari to connect an a remote user? I have an IPad 2 that I take when away from home and would love to be able to check up on home. From what I've read, I don't think this is possible but I thought I'd ask anyway.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2011, 05:29:03 PM by schmuttis »
Logged

schmuttis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Re: Remote user problem & browser support
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2011, 01:34:15 PM »

I've been pouring over the Vanguard remote user documentation trying to get this to work. I even broke down and called X10. The best they've done is to direct me to the documentation that I've already been reading. In my desperation, I turned on an older pc and the remote vanguard worked! So at this point, I think the problem is with Windows 7. Here’s what I tried:

Computer 1:  Windows 7/Norton (enabled and disabled)/IE 8 – The vanguard bull’s-eye loads but IE keeps crashing without connecting (I’m including the event log errors below)
     Also tried with Firefox. I tried 3 different IE tab extensions and everyone crashed.

Computer 2: Window XP Home/Norton (enabled)/IE 8 – vanguard works

Computer 3: Windows Server 2003/AVG (enabled)/IE 8 – vanguard works

Computer 4: Windows 7/Norton (enabled)/IE 8 – The vanguard bull’s-eye loads but continually tries to connect but never succeeds (Hopefully a picture of the status window is attached)
     Also tried with Firefox. I tried 3 different IE tab extensions and everyone crashed.
     Tried with Safari but couldn’t find any IE tab extensions.


Here is more information from Windows 7:

Computer 4: status window attached

Computer 1event log for IE/vanguard crashes

- System

  - Provider

   [ Name]  Application Error
 
  - EventID 1000

   [ Qualifiers]  0
 
   Level 2
 
   Task 100
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000
 
  - TimeCreated

   [ SystemTime]  2011-05-11T16:03:55.000000000Z
 
   EventRecordID 71200
 
   Channel Application
 
   Computer milaptop
 
   Security
 

- EventData

   iexplore.exe
   8.0.7601.17514
   4ce79912
   Xvidn.dll
   3.0.0.305
   4d387c17
   c0000005
   0006a14c
   2114
   01cc0ff4ed9a76a8
   C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
   C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10\Common\Xvidn.dll
   45773f3c-7be8-11e0-89af-001e33f296c0


Faulting application name: iexplore.exe, version: 8.0.7601.17514, time stamp: 0x4ce79912
Faulting module name: Xvidn.dll, version: 3.0.0.305, time stamp: 0x4d387c17
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0006a14c
Faulting process id: 0x2114
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc0ff4ed9a76a8
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10\Common\Xvidn.dll
Report Id: 45773f3c-7be8-11e0-89af-001e33f296c0E

Anyone have any ideas what to do with my Windows 7 PCs? I do have a web server that runs constantly. Is it possible for me to post the camera displays on my web instead of going through X10 Active X website? I am a programmer so would be able to code something if needed.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Logged

schmuttis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Vanguard remote user won't work with Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 08:46:35 AM »

So what this boils down to is that Vanguard remote user doesn't work on Windows 7 and who know when it will. Here's the response that I received from X10 support 5/11/11:

Quote
Greetings!

Thank you for your request. I am afraid I need you to wait while I discuss further steps with the tech team and some of the developers. We are seeing a very high volume of support requests right now. Please rest assured that I am doing what I can to see the issue resolved, but it will take some time. As soon as I receive further information, I will let you know. Again, thank you for your patience.

Eric Boyd | ericb@x10.com | X10 Email
« Last Edit: May 15, 2011, 08:54:00 AM by schmuttis »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.