Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Any way to program phone number in the PPC02  (Read 4226 times)

billpdx

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Any way to program phone number in the PPC02
« on: June 08, 2011, 12:26:19 PM »

I'm trying to put together an alert system for my father and stepmother.  I got the PPC02 dialer unit in a package after being told the package had the PA5800 unit in it and that I could program in the phone numbers I wanted rather than the professional monitoring service.  However, there is no dialer keypad on the unit and the instructions indicate that any programming must come from the monitoring service, presumably by the phone line.

Does anyone know of a way to program phone numbers into these systems?  I don't want a monitoring service.  I bought this because it had some additional components and because I thought I could set it up to dial my number instead.

Thanks,

Bill
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13094
Re: Any way to program phone number in the PPC02
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 02:26:41 PM »

PPC02? I can't find anything on that kit but it appears to be a X10Pro Number.
The PPC01 is the X10Pro version of the PA5800.

Did you purchase this directly from X10 online sales or a independent dealer?
I thought someone else had reported getting an incorrect console in a kit, but my searching could not find it.

I have not seen anything on programming them without the monitoring service.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: Any way to program phone number in the PPC02
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2011, 02:38:42 PM »


Does anyone know of a way to program phone numbers into these systems?  I don't want a monitoring service.  I bought this because it had some additional components and because I thought I could set it up to dial my number instead.

AFAIK only ORCA can program these units.
If someone at X10 told you that you can program in your own numbers, I would contact them. Regardless whether you can find a way of programming in personal phone numbers, the Monitored Dialer has no voice announcement capabilities. It talks digitally to ORCA monitoring. I would classify that as useless without the Monitoring Service.


editd by Tuicemen to fix quote (read ability)
« Last Edit: June 08, 2011, 03:20:30 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

billpdx

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Any way to program phone number in the PPC02
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2011, 03:45:53 PM »

Thanks for the responses.  I bought the unit from X10 directly and asked about the configuration possibilities before I bought it.  Many of the photos on the website show the PA5800 as the base unit which was why I bought the package.  It also comes with additional panic buttons for the same price as the PA5800 alone.

I guess I need to return it since it isn't what I need.

Bill
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13094
Re: Any way to program phone number in the PPC02
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2011, 04:15:34 PM »

That does sound like the best thing to do. In this situation.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.