Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Honeycomb & Ice Cream Sandwich source released  (Read 8053 times)

dhouston

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
    • davehouston.org
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

everydayflyer

• Helpful Post Rating: 5
Re: Honeycomb & Ice Cream Sandwich source released
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 09:23:36 AM »

Could someone explain to me in very simple language how this announcement pertains to the X-10 Air Pad.

I am new to the Android OS but  my limited understanding is that  this latest OS will requires more processing power to make any real use of it.

pseeker

• Helpful Post Rating: 12
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2011, 10:30:58 AM »

See http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=24688.0 There was a "loose" commitment to support the next version of Android by what appears to be an X10 Representative.  

Google did early release/branch called HoneyComb... a tablet version just to get it out there. This requires quite bit of CPU and GPU firepower.  They also released a minor tweak to the phone version of Android called GingerBread know has Android 2.3.  The latest  Android (Ice Cream Sandwich) converges the HoneyComb version to the phone version of android. This lowered the CPU and GPU requirements.  

Finally, Google never officially released the source code for Honeycomb.... until now they released both HoneyComb and Icecream sandwich source code.  This ends the speculation that Android has become closed source.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 10:39:23 AM by pseeker »

goldcougar

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2011, 11:36:16 AM »

it was also directly addressed here: http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=24691.0