Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Need help with Camera setup  (Read 13342 times)

robertk

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Need help with Camera setup
« on: January 22, 2012, 12:09:31 AM »

Hi, everyone.  Long time X10 user for lighting, but new to cameras and new to the forums.  This is my first post.

I bought a set of 4 wireless XCam2 cameras (2 color, 2 B/W) a little while ago and have finally gotten around to trying to install them.   But I'm running into problems that I don't know what to do about.  I've had X10 for a long time, but this is my first time on ActiveHome.  Hopefully someone can tell me where I'm screwing up.

I have ActiveHome Pro 3.318 installed on a Windows 7 64-bit laptop.  I have all my lights set up in ActiveHome, and they all work fine (several wall switches and a few lamp modules).  I have all my lights on the "A" house code.  I have the cameras on the "C" house code, and have separate wall transceivers for each house code. 

So like I said, all my lights work.  So now I go to install the camera.  I only have one camera plugged in at the moment for testing, and it's about ten feet from the computer.   I'm connecting through the VA12A USB video adapter.  The drivers seemed to install (never got any errors), and the camera shows as "X10 VA12A Video Capture" under the "Sound, Video, and Game Controllers" section in Windows 7 device manager.   

So I go to ActiveHome, under the camera section, or under the "IWatchOut/Add Camera" option, and I see a list of cameras to choose from.  Mine aren't in it.  The color cameras are XX30A and the B/W cameras are XX32A.  Neither of those are in the list.  The highest numbered XCam2 in the list to choose from is the XX19.     There's also nothing about VA12A anywhere, as far as I can see.