Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Total Newbe  (Read 2921 times)

EMichael

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Total Newbe
« on: September 22, 2012, 11:51:53 AM »

I have just moved into a house which has a X10 system.  Nothing fancy, just an HR12a remote, RR501 transmitter, a couple of socket modules and a couple of the xps2's.

Problem is a couple of modules have gone bad, and finding an xps2 is impossible.  I have an electrician trying to find replacements.  He has ordered a knockoff xps2 for $17, but I cannot seem to find, nor can he, a RR501.

Are the other transmitters OK to operate a pool filter, spa blower, backyards lights, etc.?

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: Total Newbe
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2012, 12:31:47 PM »

You may want to look at the XPS2's Users manual. I would try gently rotating the House Code and Unit Code Dial on them a few times. I have seen occasional incorrect addresses from intermittent dials.
http://www.x10pro.com/pro/pdf/xps2.pdf
As you have found out. The XPS2 is discontinued. I have not seen any replacement for it in a wall switch style mounting.

The RR501 Tranceiver. X10Pro  PAT01 http://www.x10pro.com/pro/pdf/pat01.pdf
Takes the RF signals from the HR12A or any other X10 remote and sends them on the power lines to other modules. It also has an internal appliance type switch in it. On either Unit Code 1 or 9 depending on the switch setting on the front. It can also be controlled by a power line signal from another controller.
Are you using the built in appliance switch?
You maybe able to use a TM751. IF you are only using RF commands to control it and are using Unit Code 1 only. Also the newer TM751s don't have a relay in them but the latest TM751C has again added the relay back.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2012, 12:43:43 PM by Brian H »

Brian H

• Community Organizer
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2012, 12:33:33 PM »

EMichael