Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Floodlights with a switch - how to control?  (Read 3876 times)

jet-a

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Floodlights with a switch - how to control?
« on: November 08, 2012, 10:41:57 PM »

Hello,

I have floodlights currently connected to my house. I would like to use X10 to add motion sensors to them, but also allow them to still be controlled by the switch inside the house.

Would it be best to replace the existing floodlights with X10 floodlights? Or should I just add motion sensors and use LM15A's to control the actual bulbs?

I did try replacing the switch with a WS467, but I was unable to turn the lights on with this switch.

I'm still learning, so if you have any other possible ways of this working i'd appreciate it!

Thanks.

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: Floodlights with a switch - how to control?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2012, 11:52:59 PM »

I use the X10 floodlights (PR511) with a regular on/off [non-automated switch]. Works well for me. But... I am not sure the X10 floodlights are still currently available.

My lights cause my automation computer (which runs BVC) to announce that the floodlight is on which the computers voice even announces outside. Informing me that there is activity where and when there should not be.... and warning any prowler that security cameras and alarms are in use. Shown here in an old YouTube Video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apZF77tsZlI

I think the same could be accomplished with any floodlight, a relay, and a powerflash module (if you have one). Pretty sure Knightrider does that. Might be able to hack any number of X10 devices to replace the floodlight IF it isn't available, like a security module (connected to a relay) or even a relay controlled hacked PalmPad. Thinking out loud [typing out loud?]here.... maybe even an old plugin X10 controller could be hacked and wired with CAT5 to several relays switches and/or sensors.