Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers  (Read 1325 times)

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 195
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2022, 07:51:39 PM »

If X10 came out with a 5g capable wm100 unit, I would buy it. I have a low tolerance for nonsense
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 149
  • Posts: 1271
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2022, 07:56:31 PM »

In the coming months Smartenit will be releasing the Harmony Pico which will do just that and much more (including Alexa control).  Stay tuned.
Logged

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 195
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2022, 09:10:13 PM »

You guys rock! I went into the advanced Wi-Fi setting on my modem, and whalla! I was allowed to disable the 5G, to set up my 2.4G items, including 2.4g cameras. I then reactivated the 5g setting in my modem, and everything works.
Logged

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 195
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2022, 09:12:23 PM »

What more do you know about the harmony Pico?
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 149
  • Posts: 1271
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2022, 11:18:11 PM »

From what I've been told it will run on the same or modified app as the Harmony G1, G2 & P2 and control X10 and Insteon devices. It will NOT need an Insteon PLM or similar but plug directly into an outlet just like a WM100.  However, unlike the WM100, it is Alexa compatible and has its own internal clock.  I use a Harmony G2 as an Alexa-to-X10 interface and it's solid as a rock. Development and customer service are in Irvine, California and is very responsive. Projected price is $110 with NO monthly fee.  I first learned about it in July and I know that they are still finishing development.  It's shows on their website but there's no detailed info about it yet.
https://smartenit.com/product-category/gateways-hubs/
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13151
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2022, 06:18:06 AM »

No PLM sounds like a very good thing.
The PLM has been a problem with working long time.
Re builder and fix posts all around the problem.
Logged

SkipWX10

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 127
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #21 on: December 11, 2022, 08:52:12 AM »

I've only had to reboot my PLM and Harmony twice and other than that, it's been pretty solid performer for an Alexa interface. Will the Pico have similar scheduling capabilities as current Smartenit app as far as you know? Would be great to have individual device scheduling right in the device listing.

I'm still depending on AHP and a CM15a for scheduled lighting control and WM100 as a backup device for phone control/web interface. I don't really use the Smartenit app.

I suppose with the outrageous pricing for a PLM nowdays, I could get the Pico and sell the PLM on ebay ;-}
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13151
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #22 on: December 11, 2022, 09:35:23 AM »

The new management. Has posted a time line sheet.
Brand new 2413S and 2413U PLM modules are scheduled for March 2023.
The shortage of PLM modules has spiked a sellers market on auction sites.
Not all of the PLM modules are reported failing. I have seen some say their 5 or more years old modules are still just working fine.

Logged

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 195
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #23 on: December 11, 2022, 11:27:46 AM »

Back to the WM100 connection to the modem thing; as I said I got it connected, along with other 2.4Gitems. I tried to control the various lights, etc that I have on the phone app...no control, thus far, however the WM100 is connected. Just a bit more work left to do, I suppose. Don't see this as a very big sticking point. The major issue is behind me.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 149
  • Posts: 1271
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #24 on: December 11, 2022, 11:31:01 AM »

I've only had to reboot my PLM and Harmony twice and other than that, it's been pretty solid performer for an Alexa interface. Will the Pico have similar scheduling capabilities as current Smartenit app as far as you know? Would be great to have individual device scheduling right in the device listing.

I'm still depending on AHP and a CM15a for scheduled lighting control and WM100 as a backup device for phone control/web interface. I don't really use the Smartenit app.

I suppose with the outrageous pricing for a PLM nowdays, I could get the Pico and sell the PLM on ebay ;-}

My understanding is that the scheduling capability will be the same as for the other Harmony devices. Same app.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 149
  • Posts: 1271
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #25 on: December 11, 2022, 11:36:09 AM »

The new management. Has posted a time line sheet.
Brand new 2413S and 2413U PLM modules are scheduled for March 2023.
The shortage of PLM modules has spiked a sellers market on auction sites.
Not all of the PLM modules are reported failing. I have seen some say their 5 or more years old modules are still just working fine.
I've actually never had one fail. I once bought a dead 2413U on ebay for next to nothing and recapped it but never had one fail in use. I must lead a charmed life!   ;D
Logged

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 195
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #26 on: December 12, 2022, 05:09:18 AM »

To close the loop on this wm100 connection to the modem thing...I went into my phone app and checked the settings for the individual controls; they defaulted to (where the options are; is this a light? and, is this light dimmable?) no, on the light controls, for some reason. I made the light selection, saved it, now, everything is golden.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 149
  • Posts: 1271
Re: X10 WM100 WIFI Hub Setup Issues on new dual band mesh routers
« Reply #27 on: December 12, 2022, 10:07:48 AM »

Glad to hear you've got it working again!
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.