Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: dusk to dawn macro problem  (Read 18423 times)

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
dusk to dawn macro problem
« on: November 24, 2004, 07:09:20 PM »

Am I the only one having problems with time
sensitive conditional macros? I have a
conditional macro that is triggered by a
motion sensor. It works fine until I try to
include a step that only allows the macro
to execute if the time is between dusk and
dawn. I am three hours past dusk and I can
not get the macro to run using the motion
sensor. If I press the macro button it
seems to work but not with the motion
sensor even though the macro run button
flashes when there is movement in front of
the motion sensor. If I remove the dusk to
dawn step it works fine.

Any sugestions?
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

rick j

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2004, 03:19:11 AM »

Hi Jim,

I had some similar issues but it was due to
using "else". When using else I had to use
flags to properly meet the conditions before
the Macro was run. There are some conditions
that require more than 1 entry for the
conditions to run the Macro are met. Below I
have pasted the Macro I had to do to meet my
conditional requirements. I found using
nighttime is a nice alternative since it set
the criteria for between Dusk and Dawn.

Cheers,
Rick


Chime/Entry O2 On and
Nighttime and
Flag Status Off exactly 4, 6
Set Flags [4,6] Flag Command

Chime/Entry O2 On and
The day of the week exactly SUN, MON, TUE,
WED, THU, SAT and Daytime
Set Flags [6] Flag Command

Chime/Entry O2 On and
The day of the week exactly FRI and
Time Condition before 2:00 pm
Set Flags [6] Flag Command

Chime/Entry O2 On and
Flag Status On exactly 4, 6
(O4) Front Entry Light ON
(O6) Front Door ON

Chime/Entry O2 On and
Flag Status On exactly 6 (O6)
Front Door ON
Logged

rick j

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2004, 03:54:01 AM »

BTW, you have to wait for 3.170 for
nighttime to work properly
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2004, 08:42:40 AM »

Rick,

Thanks for the reply. The macro that I was
trying to use was a very simple one.

Trigger condition G16 ON
Module status OFF (A4)
The time is between dusk and dawn
Run Macro
If I leave out the Dusk to Dawn portion it
works fine, but with it in it will not run.


In another macro I am using specific times.
1:30 am to 6 am. Every time I set these
times and save the macro the software
changes the 6 am to 1 am. I have remade
this macro several times over two days and
every time the same thing. It changes the
6am back to 1 am.

I have not been able to get a time
sensitive macro to work yet.
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

mack

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2004, 11:23:52 AM »

Unfortunately, I have been having a similar
problem the last few days.  I have tested
several scenarios and now I'm convinced it
not anything I'm doing wrong.  I'm told
that Homeseer doesn't have these issues so
that might be what I have to try next.
Logged

joe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2004, 06:38:47 PM »

Hi guys,

I can confirm that there is a problem with
conditionals and times. The nighttime one
worked once for me but now is broken, also
tried the time between conditionals and no
soap either. Guess they will be issuing
another update.

Joe
Logged

mikeym

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2004, 07:13:02 PM »

I'm trying the same thing with no luck. I
want to use a macro triggered by a motion
detector to run on a light in the living
room between 1 am and 6 am, if someone
enters the living room as the light has
been turned off by ActiveHome Pro at the
end of a timed sequence ( 1am ). Any help
would be GREATLY appreciated. I gave up on
this years ago with the original
ActiveHome, but thought things might work
in PRO.

Thanks
Logged

rick j

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2004, 04:44:01 AM »

Hi Gang,

A couple of things. One, if the time in the
conditions crosses into the next day (e.g.
Dusk to Dawn), There are issuses. You may
have to use "Dusk to 00:00" OR "Before
Dawn". You can't use AND because both
conditions can't exist at the same time.
That is the reason nightime doesn't work
yet.I have found that "Before Dawn" implies
Midnight to Dawn, After Dusk implies Dusk to
Midnight, etc. So be careful with your ANDs
and ORs. So for your 1am to 6am, that should
work. Do a File/Reports/Macro and cut and
paste the conditions in the the thread.
Two, if you have it set to "Store in
Interface" you have to remember to download
the changes to the interface or the changes
won't work. I have had issues that if I try
to execute the Macro before I get
the 'download complete' message I get
unreliable outcomes.


Below I have create a simple on off that I
tested in my test bed and the one with the
OR is working in the time specified. The AND
is not.

Test On A2 On and
Time Condition after Dusk or  <-----OR
Time Condition before Dawn
(A1) New Module ON

Test On A2 On and
Time Condition after Dusk and <----AND
Time Condition before Dawn
(A1) New Module ON

Test Off A2 Off
(A1) New Module OFF

Logged

rick j

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2004, 05:26:50 AM »

Jim,

This is going back to your first message.
The fact that you motion sensor triggered
your macro was a good thing. It meant that
AHP was seeing the trigger and that the
conditions weren't met so the Light On
message wasn't sent. Also, note that
clicking on the Macro button will always
execute the Macro regardless of the
conditions set. Could be a bug, could be a
feature, depends on your perspective of what
you want that button to do. If you want to
trigger a macro and test the conditions, set
your preferences to allow duplicate
addresses, and add a LAMP(I call
mine "Trigger" and change the addres as
needed) with the same address that will
tigger the macro. You can then click that
switch on and off via the user interace and
that will in turn send the on and off
messages that will trigger the macro and
utilize the conditions.

Cheers,
Rick
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: dusk to dawn macro problem
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2004, 10:36:21 AM »

Rich,
This is the conditional part of the macro.
The only problem is that the time I set is
1:30 to 6:00am. The software keeps changing
the time back to 1:00am.

G16 On and
The time is between Less Than or Equal To
1:30 am and 1:00 am

I have also posted another interesting
problem, in another thread, that I am
having with setting flags.


Jim
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.