Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: CM15a Memory LOST  (Read 13388 times)

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
CM15a Memory LOST
« on: November 28, 2004, 09:47:31 PM »

OK - so after a week of working correctly,
tonight my CM15a stopped playing my macros.

I uploaded my EEPROM and lo and behold - it
was EMPTY.  I did not see any evidence of
repeated codes being sent, but my computer
was asleep when the failure occured.

While I do keep the CM15a attached to the
computer, I have not opened AHP untill
after the crash today.  This seems to be a
hardware problem!

I will send the relevant files to
ahpsupport today.  I hope they can tell
something by them.

Paul
Logged

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: CM15a Memory LOST
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2004, 10:20:15 PM »

Actually, looking at the EEPROM contents a
little more carefully, they are not empty,
but rather have been specifically changed
to indicate the lack of timers/macros and
dusk-dawn data.  Since I have not opened
AHP, is it possible that the x10nets.exe
could do this, or some other background
process?

Paul
Logged

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: CM15a Memory LOST
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2004, 10:40:06 PM »

One last (more) thought.

When AHP is opened, does it examine the
contents of the CM15a's EEPROM.  If it
finds it to be corrupt, would it download
an "empty" header?  If so this would
explain why the EEPROM I uploaded contains
no macros or timers, but is not actually
corrupt.

If this is the case, then it would be
usefull to have a seperate utility to
capture the contents of the EEPROM so that
we could see what is happening when the
CM15a crashes.

Paul
Logged

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: CM15a Memory LOST
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2004, 09:21:19 AM »

Now that 3.170 is out, please look into
this issue next.  I think this is the most
important problem with the system at
present, and reading over the problem
reports I think others would agree.  Please
confirm that you received my files.  The
change in the contents of the CM15a needs
to be explained - it is either a software
or a hardware flaw.

Paul
Logged

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: CM15a Memory LOST
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2004, 05:26:01 PM »

I would really appreciate it if someone
from X10 would at least aknowledge this
post and confirm the receipt of the files
in question.

There have been a large number of posts
regarding this issue of the CM15a suddenly
failing after a period of use.  Several
users have had this happen, and we have
been trying to figure out when and why it
happens to the best of our ability.  X10
support has, thus far, shown relatively
little interest.

Paul
Logged

joe s.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 194
Re: CM15a Memory LOST
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2004, 06:52:15 PM »

My CM15a was still up in it's 5th day of
operation (my personal all-time record) - I
thought I'd have my RMA# by now, but I don't.
So I downloaded 3.170, and cleared/reloaded
my "working-so-far-this-time" CM15a.  Like
the rest of you, I've seen no reference by
X-10 to the many "memory-gone" notes on this
(and other) forums - ideas on S/W tweaks &
notes...yes, but nothing regarding what
appears to be a H/W issues.  Unless we can
flash-upgrade these, I guess there's not much
to say beyond RMA#'s...did I mention I don't
have one yet?
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: CM15a Memory LOST
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2004, 07:11:33 PM »

We are reading these problems, and looking at
them.

Paul: You have an e-mail from me now.

These are tough problems to resolve over
these forums, and I don't have any immediate
answers. There's clearly something not
working right, and it will probably take a
little work to figure out exactly what.

I think the best way to handle this kind of
thing is to contact me directly (as Paul and
a couple others have done) at ahpsupport@x10.com.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.