Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: VR36A Anyway to increase range?  (Read 5503 times)

dennis judd

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« on: December 01, 2005, 04:31:53 PM »

I just bought a VR36A (video, no sound), and
a XX20A (xcam2 b&w). So far all tests with
the range have been abysmal. I get maybe 20
feet through the house.

I'm not expecting perfect video, but has
anyone figured out a way to improve these? I
tried mounting some foil behind it, but I
assume they already have grounded shields
since I saw no difference (yes i grounded
it).
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13269
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2005, 04:40:55 PM »

If you have a wireless phone on the 2.4Ghz
band or a wireless network try them off and
see if it helps. Most see distortion so this
may not apply to your situation. Maybe
trying all 4 channels to see if any are
better can't hurt.
Logged

skootch

  • Guest
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2005, 07:06:34 PM »

well, there you have it.  these cameras
don't work as sold.  anyone considering
buying one?  now you have no excuses when
the crap you buy doesn't work.  ps you
can't go anywhere anymore without some rf
signals.  if this crap won't work around rf
signals, then it is useless.  yes i said
useless.
u s e l e s s  ! ! !
Logged

maynardw

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2005, 06:26:51 PM »

Dennis Judd
I use a ZB10A battery pack attached to my
camera(s)to locate the best possible
position for my camera receivers. ALL my
receivers are over 7 feet above the floor.
Logged

john to perdo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2005, 11:06:51 AM »

I have several wireless x2cams all over two
houses and most work fine. Typical range
near 50 to 100 ft. so there is hope. Also
make sure that you don't have a wireless
computer link (wi-fi, 802.11) anywhere near
your camera or receiver. Typically my
cordless phones only cause trouble if they
are in use.You mighy try turning all the
breakers in the house except the one you are
using and see if that helps. If so turn them
back on one by one til you find it. WHen I
test this stuff I plug the receiver
dirtectly into my camcarder and use the
screen on the camcorder as a monitor. You
can usually take everything outside on a
long cord and make sure it is working.
Aluminum backed insulation in walls and lo-e
glass in windows and doors is almost
impossible to shoot through. Hope this
helps. This stuff will work, hang in there.
John
Logged

Pedro S

  • Guest
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2005, 01:23:15 AM »

This page will describe my work amplifying
the Xcam2 transmitter.    I selected the
BBA-519-A Broadband amplifier module from
Linx Technologies.  This self contained unit
contains all the circuitry necessary to boost
the output power of the Xcam2 by up to 18db,
and does not require any external components
other than a current limiting resistor if you
decide to power the device with more than 5v
(it's rated up to 12v at 60ma)

http://www.yb2normal.com/linxamp.html
Logged

Pedro S

  • Guest
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2005, 01:34:27 AM »

The X10 transmitters, used for down-linking,
have one major flaw...their mouse ear looking
plate antenna are highly directional. To
correct the directional transmission problem,
I converted both to 3cm dipole antennas. I
have field tested the conversion to 400'

3cm Dipole Conversion - (1) Carefully remove
the plate antenna from the coaxial wire. (2)
Solder a length of 18ga solid copper wire to
the center wire and another piece to the
shield as shown. (3) Trim the wires as shown.
NOTE: The measurements are from the end of
the shield. (4)  To complete the antenna
conversion, apply a couple of pieces of  heat
shrink : cover the exposed wire with one
piece to insulate, then another piece over
that to stiffen the dipole antenna.

http://www.bird-shots.com/xaping/rc/dipole_1.jp
http://www.bird-shots.com/xaping/rc/dipole_2.jp
http://www.bird-shots.com/xaping/rc/dipole_3.jpg
Logged

john to perdo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2005, 01:40:43 PM »

Pedro:
One of your photos pertaining to the BBA-519-
A amplifier has an excellent shot of the
x2cam transmitter board. It shows the 3 pots
that are inside the camera. I have one
camera that appears to be drifting off
frequency at low Minnesota temperatures. I
imaginge that it is just a matter of
tweaking the frequency a little. Have you
identified the function of the 3 pots? If so
which one is frequency and what do the other
ones do?
Thanks, John
Logged

dennis

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2005, 01:52:53 PM »

Pedro,
Did you also make the dipole mod to your
receiver?  Seems like this might help if you
have cameras scattered around the property
like I do.

Thanks!
Logged

Pedro S

  • Guest
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2005, 05:58:10 PM »

John:
I don't know what the pot's do so no touch
Dennis I do the mod to Rx and Tx
Logged

chuck h

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: VR36A Anyway to increase range?
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2005, 12:04:01 PM »

Pedro S,
If I use the standard X-10 12v plug in
power transformer (XM 13A) with yor BBA-519-
A Broadband amplifier module mod, what
current limiting resistor value would be
required?
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.