Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Major phase trouble HELP!!  (Read 2983 times)

lvflyer

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Major phase trouble HELP!!
« on: December 24, 2005, 12:03:47 AM »

Sorry for the length, but I've done a lot
of  trouble shooting here.  I want to
install 3  cameras in my garage.  For some
reason any  of the cameras when plugged into
the garage  circuits won't turn off so all
on at the  same time.  When I try the
cameras in the  house I can find some
outlets on the same  circuit and they work
like they are suppose  to.  I then take the
transceiver to the  garage and leave the
cameras in the house  and they work OK.  I
take the cameras out to  the garage and even
though the transceiver  is on the same
circuit and phase none of the  cameras turn
off.  I've had these cameras  for a couple
years and they were previously  installed in
the same garage.  The only  thing different
is we converted some of the  garage to a
game room and added more outlets  and
replaced the 220 screw in fuse panel  with a
breaker panel.  Other than that no  other
electrical changes.  I don't undertand  why
the transceiver can communicate from the
garage to the house, but not from the house
to the garage and none of the outlets in
the  garage will allow the cameras to turn
off.  I don't want to waste money on the
phase  coupler if this isnt' going to solve
my  problem.  By the way I am an electrician
and  switched the legs on the 220 to the
garage  and still no joy.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Major phase trouble HELP!!
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2005, 06:52:02 AM »

Anything new in the game room. Like a TV;
Computer; surge suppressors; anything
electronic? If so Unplug the devices and see
if things get better. If they do reconnect
one device at a time untill you find the
troublemaker or troublemakers. Then use an
X10 type filter on that devices power code.
Reason many electronic devices generate line
noise in the X10 signal area or noise filter
in the device absorbes the signals. My APC
BX1000 UPS sucked up almost all of my X10
signals untill I added an X10 Line Filter to
its power cord.
Logged

lvflyer

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Major phase trouble HELP!!
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2005, 01:31:53 PM »

OK I found the problem, but now what to do
about it.  We installed an intercom that
uses the electrical system. Will changing
house help to use both systems?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Major phase trouble HELP!!
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2005, 02:05:00 PM »

I doubt it. The intercom must be making
noise on the X10 120Khz signal. House Code
only changes the first 4 data bits used to
ID the House Code not the line frequency
used. You could try X10 Line Filters on them
on the chance it is their power supplies
making the noise and not the frequency they
are sending on. This is happening all the
time even whan no intercom is sending?
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.