Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Siren issue  (Read 10090 times)

pete

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Siren issue
« on: November 14, 2004, 07:18:08 AM »

I understand that the remote X10 siren runs
off of AC only. If the AC were off, they
would fail to sound. Is there a solution that
provides backup for remote siren? We plan to
mount the remote siren in the attic with
orientation through attic vent so it can be
clearly heard outdoors. Obviously the siren
built into the DS7000 console would not serve
this purpose.
Logged

Kenneth Herring

  • Guest
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2004, 01:14:44 PM »

I have some of these. I'll have to open one
up to see if it actually runs off of DC,
internally. Perhaps it actually runs off of
12 volts DC in which case it mayy be
possible to incorporate a battery pack that
would stay charged by the internal
transformer, yet would provide battery back-
up in case of power failure.
One thing to consider, however...
If the power WERE to go out, there would be
no AC line voltage to carry the X-10 power
line command signal to this power horn? I'm
not exactly sure. I know the base unit is
also an X-10 transmitter capable of sending
X-10 commands onto the line, but I don't
know if the 9 volt back-up battery is enough
to transmit commands throughout the whole
system...might be, but I believe that is
works by sensing and timing itself with the
60Hz sine, and without the 60Hz reference,
it may not transmit. Therefore, to hook your
back-up Powerhorn to the AC system as usual
might not work.
An alternative, if the powerhorn works off
of DC internally like I believe it does,
might be to canabalize the horn, put the
horn in the attic vent, and put the rest in
a box. Go inside the base unit and figure
how to interface with the internal siren so
that, when the internal siren goes off, it
will trigger a DC relay to fire-off the
powerhorn in the attic. I have a DS7000, but
haven't goten around to hooking it up, yet.
Does the internal siren sound off the 9volt
battery if there's no power?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2004, 06:28:17 PM »

The X10 transmissions are timed by the 60
cycle power at the zero crossing. No AC and
the signals will not be sent or received as
the receiving modules also use the zero
crossing to check for a signal and to time
them. I believe that the PH508 Siren Module
has a power transformer in it that is
converted to DC but again no AC to time the
signals. Many of the smaller modules like
the chime module SC546 use a line derived
supply with no transformer.
Logged

Kenneth Herring

  • Guest
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2004, 09:21:22 PM »

Yep. That's what I was thinking, and someone
in another post brought-up the comment that
the base unit chimes via the internal siren
elements. I don't know because mine is still
in the box. If it chimes with these guys to
let you know stuff, then to try to use them
to actuate the powerhorn like I was
theorizing ealier won't work correctly.
The Power horn does use an internal AC
transformer, but I didn't plug it in to test
to see what the rectified DC voltage was.
I'm suspecting 12 volts. I'll keep thinking
on this problem, though, because it will be
a problem for a lot of us.
If there is no AC voltage, will the internal
siren on the base unit sound-off, anyway?
I'm thinking not, although I could be wrong.
Perhaps it does. Someone let me know. Also
would like to know if the annunciator 'beep'
comes from a seperate piezo, or if it uses
the siren piezo's.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2004, 04:07:40 PM »

I never unpacked mine, but the manual seems
to indicate that the battery will sound the
siren if tripped but I would not count on a
real long time. External devices like the
poweflash or lamp modules will not work with
no AC.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2004, 06:26:24 PM »

In the manual under battery information. It
says that running on the battery will sound
the internal siren and dial out the
emergincy number, but any external devices
like a light module or powerhorn will not
work.
Logged

Kenneth Herring

  • Guest
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2004, 11:27:35 PM »

Ahhh....Thanks. I was looking through my
manual, but forgot to check on that by the
time I dug it out.
Logged

joe

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2004, 08:10:20 AM »

I recently purchased a ph508 siren to be
trigger by my wireless radio shack system.
The siren will not respond to trigger alarm,
but i can take a x10 transmitter and turn the
ph508 off and on rapidly and the siren will
work,  does anyone have suggestions on how I
can get the PH 508 to work properly.  I
emailed x10 support but have not received any
assistance,  I also called them and left my
phone number, maybe someone out there has had
the same problem
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2004, 08:36:21 AM »

Joe; That is the way that the ph508 is
designed to work. A series of ON-OFF
commands sent to its House and Unit Code
will trigger it. I believe it is four sets
that normally trigger it and after the
series of commands stops. It then sounds for
about four more seconds. If you have a
closed output from your alarm. You could get
a PowerFlasher module to send ot the on off
commands when triggered. I have seen hacks
that allow you to change the number of on
off sets before a trigger, but none on an
instant trigger.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2004, 08:28:51 AM »

Joe; Should have asked if the console you
have can flash an X10 lamp module to grab
attention. If it does set the ph508 to that
X10 address.
Logged

joe

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2004, 09:03:03 AM »

Brian H.  The console will flash lamps on
x-10 unit and I have set the power horn to
the same code but maybe I didn't wait long
enough for it to get started if it takes for
commands to get it started
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2004, 09:05:57 AM »

Could be. I have used a palmpad to trigger
mine and I know it takse at least 4 on off
cycles to trigger it. Another thing to try
maybe a lamp module where the ph508 is
connected. Maybe an off chance that the X10
signal may not be getting to that outlet.
Logged

joe

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2004, 09:13:23 AM »

Brian H.

I have a flood light plug into lamp module
with in 12 inches of where the ph is plugged in
Logged

chris

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2004, 01:07:20 PM »

I have a powerhorn which should be used
indoor, any one know a external siren
(system) can be used with x10? For exmaple
maybe I can connect an external siren to the
the lamp module
Logged

sid

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2005, 09:22:18 AM »

I'm so confused. I have my DS7000 console
working perfectly. Three MS10A Motion
Sensors triggering an alarm perfectly.
Console sirens trigger, as does Lamp Module
(flashes on and off, them remains on). But
SH10A Remote Sirens just don't work.
I've heard I should set them to the same
house and unit code as the Lamp Module. And
I've heard I should give them a unique unit
code. Any help is appreciated.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.