Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Siren issue  (Read 10348 times)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2005, 10:03:32 AM »

The siren must see at least 2 or 3 on off
cycles on its house and unit code. Set it to
the same address as the lamps that flash on
and off. A test can be with a controller
like a keychain remote or a table top
console like a maxi-controller. Anyway send
at about 1 second intervals an ON for the
address the siren is on then an off. Do this
for at least three cycles and it should then
sound and continue for a few seconds after
the on off cycle has benn stoped.
Logged

sid

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2005, 12:05:54 PM »

Brian,
I have 1 lamp set up which flashes on and
off whenever an alarm triggers. Then it
stays on. It is set to house a / unit 1. I
have a second lamp module. It, and the two
horns don't seem to work no matter how I
set them. I've set everything to house a /
unit 1, and the only thing working is the
original lamp module. I've tried setting
the other lamp module and the horns each to
different unit codes (2, 3, 4, 13) and no
combination works.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2005, 02:57:37 PM »

OH It maybe thet the signals can't get to
the other phase of the house wiring or that
something is making noise to mask the signal
at the ones not working. A test put one of
the sirens in the same outlet that the lamp
works and try it. If it works then we may
have to do some thinking on pahse coupling
or noise reduction. Two things; not usually
mentioned when buying such things.
Logged

sid

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2005, 09:25:37 PM »

I'll try that. I've had the siren in the
same duplex outlet as the console, and that
worked once, and then not again.
Logged

jeff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2005, 02:18:06 PM »

I have the new RadioShack security system
(49-1000) and purchased a X-10 Powerhouse
Powerhorn siren and tried it with the
system and it doesn't work. I have a lamp
module that works fine and both the siren
and the lamp module are set the same. I
plugged the siren into the lamp module and
I can hear the siren buzzing when I use the
remote to turn the module on and off but no
siren sounds. Any suggetions? Thanks!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2005, 07:03:42 PM »

The powerhorn has a power transformer in it
and may not like being on a lamp module that
has a triac in it and can dim.
Logged

jeff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2005, 07:09:40 PM »

Thanks, but that was a suggestion I read
somewhere to test it. As an addendum to my
first message, I can plug  the siren into
any outlet in the house and it sounds after
2 cycles of the on-off on the remote but it
doesn't sound when the alarm goes off. What
could be keeping it from sounding when the
console alarm is triggered? The lamp module
makes the light go on and off so I know
that signal is  being sent.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2005, 07:45:22 PM »

Strange. I have downloaded the RS manual and
will give it a look at. The lamp is a
standard one and not a compact Flouresecnt
or low voltage type?
Logged

jeff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2005, 07:59:23 PM »

The lamp is a standard lamp. I just want to
make sure you realize my issue is with the
new X-10 Powerhouse Powerhorn siren. I want
it to sound when the alarm is triggered and
it does not. It will sound when I press the
on-off buttons on the remote after a couple
of times.
Logged

tia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #24 on: March 11, 2005, 08:08:31 PM »

Are you using X10? We give 10% rebate on your order. We
have set up a support group for the rebate program to
make sure you get what we promise.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/x10rebates/join

And this is the rebate page. Please read carefully.

http://www.phucviet.com/X10/index.htm
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #25 on: March 11, 2005, 08:41:55 PM »

I have a theory. The RS Console flashes two
Lamp Codes. The remote and I would guess the
console instant buttons; if cycled ON-OFF on
the proper code set off the siren and flash
the lamp. Could be that the second lamp code
in the sequence maybe confusing the siren.
Example. You have the lamp and siren on F1.
The remote button 1 sends an on and off
sequence and it sounds the siren. OK now you
trigger the console alarm. It then sends out
an F1 F2 ON then an F1 F2 off. This may not
trigger the siren and just flash the lights.
Just a theory as we don't have an X10 signal
tester on the line to verify the exact
sequence sent on the power line. I may use
the advanced feature of my 1133CU to send
varried signals to a powerhorn to see if it
is sequence sensative. Hope to have more
data tomorrow.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13272
Re: Siren issue
« Reply #26 on: March 11, 2005, 08:49:37 PM »

Yes I did know it was a siren thing. Just
that CFLs can cause strange things if in the
mix.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.