Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: ds7000 armed or not ?  (Read 4893 times)

bill

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 21
ds7000 armed or not ?
« on: November 23, 2004, 10:22:27 PM »

I've got the ds 7000 alarm with several
keychain remotes plus my cars have
the "homelink" programable controllers. I
can arm the sytem with the standard house
control pad and it gives an audible warning
for about 1 minute before it arms. No
problem telling that the alarm is armed
when I do that. However, when I use the
keychain remote from outside the garage or
the "homelink" from inside the car as I
drive out the driveway, I have no way to
tell if the alarm has received the "arm"
signal. I have read the recent post about
using a led detector with a contact module
to turn on a light to show the alarm
is "armed". I do not want or need a device
that is on the entire time that the alarm
is on (although that may be the only
option). I am looking for a way to install
a remote signal (light, lamp, buzzer, ect)
that stays on only about 1 minute. This
would be easy to do if I used the house
control pad because it turns on the porch
lights and inside lamps for 1 minute then
turns them off when the alarm arms. I could
just move the lamp near a window by the
driveway. The house control pad has a delay
built in. I need to use the keychain
remotes and still get this 1 minute signal
that the alarm has received the "arm"
signal.
One main reason that I use the keychain
remote is that I have a motion detector in
the garage and I must close the door before
arming the system. Any ideas on how to get
the keychain remotes to allow a delay
before the system arms?
Logged

mmmmiiiicccc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: ds7000 armed or not ?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2004, 12:34:38 PM »

Hey!? Thatís why I'm here :-P

I gave up..but I'm still reading.  I just
carry my security remote around now and put
a little beer sign in my window.  If there
is away to set a delay in the key chain
remote..I can't find it. What Iíd prefer to
do is just tell the base unit to only arm on
delay.  That would solve this problem weíre
having.  I donít know why itís not a
configurable option in the security console
to begin with.
Logged

myron

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: ds7000 armed or not ?
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2004, 01:04:22 PM »

I wish I had an answer for you. I have the
same problem. I contacted "technical
support" and they said there was no way of
knowing if the alarm armed or not with the
keychain remote. If you hear of a solution,
please post it for the rest of us. Thanks,
Logged

dick

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: ds7000 armed or not ?
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2004, 11:47:15 PM »

Arming with the in house remote gives a one
minute delay that delays the motion
detectors also.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.