Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Detect Water Leak  (Read 10827 times)

cesmith

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Detect Water Leak
« on: January 06, 2007, 05:03:35 PM »

I am new to X10 security and I need advice on what I need to install to detect a water leak.  I have had my water heater leak twice and last winter my water main meter started spraying water all over.  Lucky I was home and found it.  The city had to come out on New Year's Day and turn the water off coming in to the house.

What products do I need to detect and alert my X10 security system for a water leak on the basement floor?

Thanks,

Charles

Puck

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
Re: Detect Water Leak
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2007, 05:31:53 PM »

What products do I need to detect and alert my X10 security system for a water leak on the basement floor?

You could look for some commerical water detection product with a Normally Closed switch and interface it with a Window / Door Sensor (DS10A).

hostilejava

• Helpful Post Rating: 2
    • HostileJava
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2007, 05:32:36 PM »

Looks like this:

http://www.smarthome.com/7160.html

Wired to a door/window sensor is what your looking for.

cesmith

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2007, 12:00:40 AM »

Thanks for the info.  It looks like the AC powered WaterBug is the one that will work with a closed connection and the battery operated WaterBug only works with a open connection.

If the power goes out does the WaterBug trip the alarm or just not detect a water leak?

Charles

Puck

• Advanced Member
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 09:33:49 AM »

You can use a Normally Open switch with the Door / Window Sensor (DS10A), if you're handy with a soldering iron.  ;)