Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: yet another question on siren :-)  (Read 17892 times)

leo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2005, 06:34:20 PM »

Hi Brian,
What are u using for the siren? is it
DC or AC? Also is this relay sensitve
enough to shut off external siren after
RS unit shuts off. Or do i need to
move to the middle of mountains so my
neighbours can not hear the siren... :-)

I wonder if it is worth instead to buy a X10
unit  and use the Powerhorn. Is the PH any
good? With my siren, it is loud enough to be
heard 100 yards away.

Thanks again for looking in to it.

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13080
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2005, 06:59:50 PM »

The relay is sensative in the power it takes
to be actuated. The transducer driver
doesn't provide lots of power. Yes it should
turn ON from the transducer being driven and
should drop out when the driver is stoped.
The RS 49-1000 has some nice features like a
password; LCD screen and settable options
like delays etc. The X10 doesn't have as
many bells and whistles. The sensors and
detectors seem to work with each others
consoles. Only the Powerhorns seem to be a
problem with the RS unit. The smaller SH10A
sounds like in my opinion an overexcited
cricket and the PH508 sounds like a
warbiling two tone sound. Neither sound like
a siren but can still draw attention. Not
weather resistant so outside maybe a problem
for them. OH one point not in the RS book.
Push BOTH the Arm and Disarm button on the
remote is a 'Panic' alarm. Truth here. I
have both an RS 49-1000 and an X10 DS7000
and don't use either one. I like
experimenting and tinkering. Even taking
things apart for fun, though warantee is
shot that way! That is whay I have boxes of
extra X10 stuff from sales, though I do
control the house with X10 modules and
equivalent X10 stuff from third party
manufacturers.
Logged

leo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2005, 10:51:55 PM »

Brian, U are the Best :-) Thanks for sharing
the info. I have enjoyed reading your
emails. Please let me know what you
find out. It looks like I am going to
stay with RS for now. You are right, it has
nice features except the siren part ;-). I
hope they can provide that feature one day.
I am going to send them an email and hope
for the best.

later,
leo
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13080
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2005, 04:02:16 PM »

Will post anything I do find out.
Logged

ray

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2005, 11:04:09 PM »

I HAVE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT THE 49-
1000 WILL SOUND THE PH508.THE ONLY PROBLEM
IS THAT THE RADIO SHACK 49-1000 IS SENDING
THE SIGNAL TO SLOW TO TRIP THE POWER HORN
HAS ANY BODY OUT THERE FIGURE OUT HOW TO
SPEED UP THE SIGNAL ON THIS CONSOLE.I HAVE
CONTACTED X TEN AND I AM SURE THER
TECHNICIONS KNOW WHAT TO DO TO CORRECT THIS
PROBLEM BECAUSE THEY BUILD THIS UNIT FOR
RADIO SHACK.X 10 HAS NOT RESPOND TO
ME.ANYBODY KNOW HOW TO SPEED UP THE SIGNAL.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13080
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #20 on: June 25, 2005, 07:13:09 AM »

The PH508 [SH10A may also]will respond to
the Security Light ON OFF cycle as you said.
Yes the timing is too slow to do it
normally. Actually it is the order of
signals that may mess it up. Problem is X10
designed the PH508 and smaller SH10A to
respond to an All Lights ON; All Units OFF
sent by their DS7000 console. Only way to
get the timing fixed is a new firmware from
X10 for R.S and the chips are soldered in.
Even R.Ss web site where the PH508 and SH10A
are shown only say it is compatible with
their older console that is like a DS7000
only White. I have seen a modifacation for
the PH508 that lets it respond to less
cycles normally takes 4 if memory serves me.
Maybe that will help. I have promised to do
tests and this weekend maybe free to do them.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13080
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #21 on: June 25, 2005, 08:16:41 AM »

Ray; Line signals sent by 49-1000 when in a
panic trip. Using B1 and B2 House Unit
Addresses:
B1
B2
BOn
B1
B2
BOff
The timing or the extra unit code maybe the
thing that the PH508 or SH10A don't like.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13080
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #22 on: June 25, 2005, 04:52:48 PM »

Tried the PH508 mod found on the
www.pigselectronics.com; Tech Tips for less
cycles for a trip. It also didn't work with
the 49-1000. It sounded intermitantly in
bursts and also tripped when you armed
it ,lights flash on and off to verify an
armed condition.
Logged

ray

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2005, 09:55:56 PM »

Hi Brian   I don't guest no one has found a
cure for that radio shack 49-1000 junk.i
have sunk some money in this piece of junk
plus radio shack got my $50.00
bucks.claming they did not recieve that
power horn i sent back to them.i am feed up
with x 10 and radio shack.so i will find me
another brand of home alarm to by.hope i
can sell this junk 2 power horns and 11
transmitter.i have learned my lesson you
get what you pay for???????.JUNK.
Logged

gus

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2005, 12:09:02 AM »

Radio shack  49-1000 deliver to the buzzer
spikes up to 40 VAC, average 18 VAC.
I used 4 diodes bridge and 2200 mcF
capacitor to rectify it. Then I connected it
to Radioshack Reed relay - #275-232. the
relay draws 20mA of current. It worked. But
internal buzzer sounds pathetic when relay
is connected. I want both - internal and
external siren. Tomorrow I will experiment
with a transistor switch - should draw way
less carrent from the buzzer.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13080
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2005, 06:52:28 AM »

Yes on the RS 49-1000 I used a very sensative
relay with a bridge diode and cap for
filtering, It worked but as you said it
kills the internal buzzer. If I hade gone to
the input side of the transforme I may have
gotten better results.
Logged

New X10

  • Guest
Re: yet another question on siren :-)
« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2005, 07:38:51 PM »

Has anyone found a simple answer to the
poor sound on the siren? Seems it's a
problem and is making X10 alarm owners sell
their equipment.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.