Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: MS10A (motion detector) Height  (Read 8093 times)

marc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
MS10A (motion detector) Height
« on: September 17, 2005, 02:31:50 PM »

I'm starting to set up my protector plus
system and have a question about mounting
height of the MS10A motion detector. In the
instructions it says it should be mounted 5'
- 6' high. I was wondering if it would be
alright to mount it just above a door???
Anybody else have theirs set up like this???

Thanks,

Marc
Logged

ian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 40
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2005, 09:19:43 PM »

Marc,

The Motion Sensor has an ARC of vision I
think about 15 degrees up and down from
center. There is a picture of it in the
support section, product manuals, use the
model number of the sensor.

If you put the sensor above the door it
will work but what you will have is a blind
area for the sensor just below it and all
along the wall that door is on. Depending
on their height a person will have to walk
a few feet into the room before it sees
them.
Logged

burt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2005, 01:44:46 AM »

My Eagle eye,and active eye detectors
mounted out side were tripping every time
there was the slighest breeze,so I made
a "mask"with only a 1/8 inch horoznal slot
in the middle of the lense This solved the
problem for me.

Logged

tom j 2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2005, 03:51:40 PM »

Ian you really know your stuff I found what
you said about the blind spot to be right
on!! Positioning is key! Also found to make
them pet smart that a piece of tape at the
bottom of the lens about a ľ of an inch will
prevent false alarms from small dogs cats
ect. Please not that if a burglar decided to
rob you while crawling around on his knees
he could but that would be highly unlikely.
A friend had a mouse problem and kept
getting false alarms and while heís working
on it with an exterminator he tried this
hasnít had any more since.

tcj
Logged

krys

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2005, 11:19:30 AM »

I am having a problem in that when the system
checks each component of the system, my
motion detector feels to check in with the
main box 1/2 of the time, it is located close
to the main box so interfrence should be
minimal.  it is located at 5 ft off the
ground, any suggestions, my house alarming
remote, never checks in, yet it arms and
disarms just fine, what gives
Logged

tom j 2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2005, 03:03:16 PM »

"Krys  10/1/2005 08:19 AM
I am having a problem in that when the
system  checks each component of the system,
my  motion detector feels to check in with
the  main box 1/2 of the time, it is located
close  to the main box so interfrence should
be  minimal.  it is located at 5 ft off the
ground, any suggestions, my house alarming
remote, never checks in, yet it arms and
disarms just fine, what gives"

Sounds to me that you have a defective
component. Possibly the security console.
Call x10 support and see what they say if
everything is still under warranty then
start sending components back until you
isolate the problem as for the arming remote
IT NEVER CHECK IN just the motion detectors
and door sensors. One Last thing be sure you
use alkaline batters I just remembered that
I had a similar problem until I replaced the
batteries just try putting some new
batteries in first then proceed as indicated.

tcj
Logged

tom j 2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2005, 05:26:40 PM »

Say Burt I've had to disable mine for
daylight in the summer because just the
sunlight itself would constantly cause false
alarms did the masking resolve this problem
and how did the mask affect sensitivity?
Thanks


Tcj
Logged

krys

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2005, 06:35:07 PM »

thanks I will check that out.  I have a
couple of motion sensors, and have only put
up one since I have been having difficulties.
I am still under warranty
Logged

krys

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2005, 06:35:13 PM »

thanks I will check that out.  I have a
couple of motion sensors, and have only put
up one since I have been having difficulties.
I am still under warranty
Logged

burt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2005, 02:05:39 AM »

Tom J  The mask helped some with the wind
and moving tree limbs problem,but direct sun
still causes false triggering.Don't know how
to avoid that.Tried mounting in a box to
shade it but that wasn't the ans.either.
Logged

burt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2005, 02:17:16 AM »

Tom J   I didn't use tape for the mask,it
might leave some or ruin the lenz if you
remove it later.Instead I made them out of
thin black plastic and stuck the edges on
with hotmelt glue,away from the lenz.
Logged

tom j 2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2005, 02:56:19 PM »

Yep finally someone that has the same
problem that I'm experiencing daylight
causing false triggering! I've also
experienced the limb problem finally just
moved the sensor to another location. These
things could really be incredible if they
really worked I've had to completely disable
the daylight function so mine now just work
at night. The Eagle Eyes have saved my new
car on at least three occasions. I have
three hidden around the perimeter. I have an
alarm and starter disabler but I was able to
catch three different people around my new
car at night, well thatís been over a year
and I guess the world got out because they
havenít returned. Just wish they would fix
the problems with these things, do you think
itís the lens itself, poor design maybe??
Thanks!

Tcj
Logged

burt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2005, 01:18:46 AM »

Tom Guess we're not the only ones with
motiondetctor problems.but have no
complaints when used in the house they work
great. I'v got 3 transeivers and 1
repeater,in order to get signal from out
side mot,dect's,and none are over 10feet
away outside.If there was a way to lower the
sensitivity it probally help false
triggering??I'm going to look into getting a
infra red beam unit instead of the motiod
detc's.(for out side)They have me rather up
set!!!
Logged

tom j 2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 56
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2005, 02:33:44 PM »

Ditto here love the ones inside and the ones
outside work fine at NIGHT, for daylight
they're useless!!! Think it might be the
lens?

tcj
Logged

burt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: MS10A (motion detector) Height
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2005, 01:04:16 AM »

Tom,If you find the ans.please let me
know.   I thought I'd solve it when I bought
the flood lite motion det.But it just added
more problems,Besides it will only start the
camera BUT not the vcr(commander)so still
needed a motion det.Can't win for losing.lol
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.