Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Motion Sensors  (Read 3153 times)

ralph rossi

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Motion Sensors
« on: January 03, 2006, 09:42:51 PM »

Typically motion sensors are used to turn
on devices, can a motion sensor also be
used to turn off devices?
Logged

kk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 41
Re: Motion Sensors
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 10:41:00 AM »

I'm new to this, just got my first motion
sensor yesterday, but when it detects
motion it sends an "on" command and then
an "off" command a certain time later, from
1 minute to (I think) 256 minutes later.  I
guess it depends on exactly what you want
to do as to whether or not it will work.
Also, I'm new to macros, but you could
probably set up a macro to turn something
off when the motion sensor sends the "on"
command to the macro.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13010
Re: Motion Sensors
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2006, 04:37:28 PM »

Depending on the sensor model. Most send an
off on the same address after a preset
amount of no motion detected. Another thing
tat some miss. Is that a dusk sensor many
times sends an ON at the address +1; and an
OFF at Dawn. Like if you have the sensor on
B2; B3 on and off is sent at dusk and dwan.
Some models this can be disabled.
Logged

kk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 41
Re: Motion Sensors
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2006, 12:18:01 AM »

Yeah, I noticed the dusk and dawn feature
on my EagleEye, and I don't think it said
anything about disabling it.  That might be
a bit of an inconvenience if I don't want
the signals sent.  Right now I don't have
anything set at the +1 location, but I
probably will eventually....
Logged

ivan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Motion Sensors
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2006, 08:55:02 PM »

You need to create a Macro to do this,
some thing like this
i.e.   B15 is your Sensor and A2 is
switch/module you want to turn off
You would create a Macro A1

that would turn off A2 when receives the
B15 On signal
Logged

ron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Motion Sensors
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2006, 10:31:20 PM »

My I've forgotton a lot!  This stuff has been
in this location for more than 17 years.  As
soon as I read Brian H's post regarding the
wireless motion sensors and the dusk function
at +1 address, I recalled why my motion
sensors (3) all operate on channel 8 of my
primary house code.  I don't use ch9 and
above but go to another house code for the
remainder of channels because many of my
wireless controllers (those boxes full of
buttons) only  really conviently service
eight channels easily.  Obviously, a system
with less channels only needs to leave the
next channel up from the motion detector
unused to avoid "unusual" problems.  
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.