Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: X10 Nay-sayers...  (Read 5972 times)

poursha

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
X10 Nay-sayers...
« on: February 25, 2006, 03:21:15 PM »

I'm always amused by the people who come into the forum slamming X10 products.   ???  Normally they don't even give reasons, and/or examples.

I've been working with X10 stuff for about 3 months.  I jumped head first installing at least 20+ modules and I've been pretty creative with the AHP macros, timers, etc..  I've even ventured into some of the well known mods listed throughout the internet (local dimming, changing a wall switch to use an SSR).  In otherwords, I haven't held back on "pushing the limits" of the technology.

I have run into small issues.  I'll give a few examples:
1.  Needed a filter on a TV.  TV caused noise on ONE of my wall switches which made it ignore signals.  Filter worked like a dream.
2.  I've screwed up a few times programming macros, and usually found the problem to be my own.
3.  A few times I've designated the same house/unit codes to multiple devices and/or macros, causing unusual results.
4.  I wired a 3-way switch wrong one time, and got very erratic results.  Easily fixed it by rewiring correctly.
5.  I already installed a phase coupler (plug in module), although I never got indication that I need it.
6.  I had erratic results from a motion sensor when I didn't read the instructions which said that the motion sensor also turned on/off the code+1 device.

In about every case, I've either found a work around, or I found my own error.  The point is I actually had to THINK and understand the problem, and typically found out that it was NOT a fundamental X10 problem.