Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Macro Triggered on Power Failure  (Read 41980 times)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Macro Triggered on Power Failure
« on: November 29, 2004, 01:26:52 PM »

It would be nice to be able to trigger a
macro based on power failure / power
restoration. That way, I can have a macro
that would turn back on certain lights after
a blackout has ended.

[edited subjet to be more descriptive]
« Last Edit: April 21, 2006, 05:15:02 PM by roger1818 »
Logged

happyras

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2004, 05:52:55 PM »

I would like a self induced blackout every
couple of hours (or programable) that would
cut power to the unit (in concept, really
just look for error and reset) for about 10
seconds so I don't have to keep unplugging
it to get the repeating command thing to
stop.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2004, 11:06:15 PM »

"It would be nice to be able to trigger a
macro based on power failure / power
restoration."

Great idea! Tied to a conditional or two
you could do a true "power restoration".
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2004, 09:07:21 AM »

I'm working on a hardware-based solution,
using a modified plug-in controller (the one
from Radio shack), a timer circuit, and a
relay. It will (hopefully) send a command
(I'll probably use "M1 ON") a few seconds
after being plugged in (or when power comes
back on after a blackout), that would
trigger a conditonal macro to turn lights on
based on the time of day, etc. The delay is
to allow the CM15A to power on and be ready
to receive commands. I'll post the results
when I get some time to complete the
hardware modification.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2004, 10:44:28 PM »

Do let us know when you get it working!
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2004, 09:23:17 AM »

I'm waiting for my dad's help. He has a much steadier hand with a soldering iron than I do.
I found the plans at the link below, but I'm going to modify them slightly (I don't want to disable the buttons, so I'm going to solder to existing connection points at the chip, or elsewhere on the board. http://www.idobartana.com/hakb/modifying_mini_controller.htm#Turning_the_mini_controller_into_dry_contact_receiver
« Last Edit: October 24, 2009, 02:30:42 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2004, 12:46:11 PM »

Thanks for the link.

The site is getting a lot of hits. I got
this message when I tried to reach it.

"The web site you are trying to access has
exceeded its allocated data
transfer.... ...Access to this site will be
restored within an hour. Please try again
later."

Anyone out there with a web site willing to
mirror this info?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2004, 12:52:00 PM »

"...I'm going to solder to existing
connection points at the chip, or elsewhere
on the board...."

Better to solder at a place "elsewhere on
the board" than "at the chip". If you have
to do it *anywhere* near the chip, use a
heat sink and be quick lest you fry the
chip.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2004, 01:01:35 PM »

Now the link is is giving me "Sorry, the
page you requested was not found."

I hope you printed out the information.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2004, 03:27:03 PM »

The page is back up now.
Also, based on the layout of the board, the
best place to make those connections is at
the pins on the IC, rather than the traces
on the board. The physical connection should
be a bit stronger, and I can still use the
switches that way.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2004, 05:21:52 PM »

Noam

How are you handling the power detection?
For it to be reliable, I believe you would
need a delay after power returns. Otherwise
if power flickers it could cause a problem.
It also has to be a momentary connection.

I have an old controller that has a short
in it somewhere. It's a great candidate for
rewiring. I can't use as a regular
controller. Code 1 is 12 etc. and the offs
differ from the ons. I can wire to a known
code for this purpose, however.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2004, 05:27:39 PM »

I haven't quite figured it all out yet. The
first step is turning the controller into a
try contact ransmitter. I tried holding down
the switches, and it doens't send repeated
codes (unless you do this for dim/bright of
course), and it doesn't prevent other codes
from being sent afterwards.
I will have to test by shorting the
contacts, then plugging both the CM15A and
the mini-controller into a power strip, and
turning it on (to simulate both getting
power at the same time). If I need to add a
delay, I can use the timing chip I bought
from Radio Shack for that purpose (it cost
me $1.49 - no big expense). I'll let you
know what happens. I probably won't be able
to modify the controller till this weekend.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Noam has a question
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2006, 12:56:56 PM »

I'm working on a hardware-based solution, using a modified plug-in controller (the one from Radio shack), a timer circuit, and a relay. It will (hopefully) send a command (I'll probably use "M1 ON") a few seconds after being plugged in (or when power comes back on after a blackout), that would trigger a conditonal macro to turn lights on based on the time of day, etc. The delay is to allow the CM15A to power on and be ready to receive commands. I'll post the results when I get some time to complete the hardware modification.

Did you ever come up with a working device?
« Last Edit: April 21, 2006, 12:30:01 PM by steven r »
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Macro Triggered on Power Failure
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2006, 09:19:36 PM »

I never could get the advanced circuitry to work correctly. Instead, I bought a PowerFlash module, and connected a short wire between the two terminals. As long as the power goes out for more than a few seconds (I think it needed at least 5 seconds to work), the Powerflash sends the appropriate code when power comes back on, and does so with a slight delay. The CM15A picks up the signal, and runs the appropriate macro (based on day of the week, time of day, etc) to turn on the correct lights. It worked when we had a two-hour outage a few weeks ago.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Macro Triggered on Power Failure
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2006, 01:28:46 AM »

...I bought a PowerFlash module, and connected a short wire between the two terminals....

I believe I remember someone suggesting that once. Thanks for testing out the idea. Sure seems like the easiest way detect the power failure.
Does the PowerFlash module only send the code once or is it continuously sending a code while the terminals are shorted and power is on?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.