Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Switch to Microsoft's "standard" interface  (Read 9862 times)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Switch to Microsoft's "standard" interface
« on: March 06, 2006, 04:26:58 PM »

Something that has bugged me since the very beginning with the AHP interface is how it doesn't follow the Microsoft standards. Sure, if you are running XP, with the "Windows XP" theme, then AHP looks just like everything else in windows, but it doesn't ACT that way. Is there a way to make "Alt-F4" close the program? what about making the arrows and/or the scroll-wheel on my mouse scroll up and down in the Activity Monitor? Just my two cents, but wouldn't it have been easier to program the interface using Microsoft's standard Dll's for dialogs and stuff, instead of writing new ones? That way, whatever "theme" I choose for the look and feel of Windows on my PC would translate over to AHP, as it does for almost every other program I run.

Logged

jserrat

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Switch to Microsoft's "standard" interface
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 10:09:39 PM »

As a Linux user, I couldn't help chuckling at this suggestion.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13269
Re: Switch to Microsoft's "standard" interface
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2006, 06:58:17 AM »

Some other brands use the standard Microsoft Drivers and no special X10 stuff is needed. Like for the cm15a.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Switch to Microsoft's "standard" interface
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2006, 08:46:54 AM »

Oddlly, AHP's apprearence is XP standard, not strange, it was written long after XP was released. My profile's desktop is good old 9X and AHP doesn't conform, shows up the same in my profile and in my wife's profile, which is modifed XP standard.

To me, how AHP looks is a "much ado about nothing" debate. It works, it does what I want.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Switch to Microsoft's "standard" interface
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2006, 10:51:05 AM »

...To me, how AHP looks is a "much ado about nothing" debate. It works, it does what I want.
Ditto.

When I log on remotely I have to adjust the screen to fill the page and switch to display all rooms. Takes an extra half a minute but I've gotten use to it by now.

What I'm more interested to know is if AHP is being tested to work with Windows Vista?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.